how many careers have you had in your life?

Discussion in 'Community' started by jefhatfield, Mar 8, 2004.

1. jefhatfield Retired

jefhatfield

...of several years or longer?

has anybody here done just one thing their whole life?

2. darkblue macrumors newbie

Lol, yep.
    I'm 28 and I'm a nurse, my husband is an oncologist and I'm studying paediatrics. I'm guessing that I'll be in medicine my whole life... :)

3. Dippo macrumors 65816

Dippo

Does being a bum count as a careeer?

If so, then I have had only one :)

4. jefhatfield thread starter Retired

jefhatfield

a nicer way of saying being a bum is being in search mode ;)

i didn't fall into anything steady until i was 23...before that i was a college student with some summer jobs and absolutely no idea how i was going to make a living if i didn't in rock music...because i had no back up plan, i made sure i became a decent guitarist so it wasn't all a loss...most guitarists i knew had a back up plan so they usually never got very good at music and as years would go by, they put it on the back burner as a career option and as a hobby

i was jealous of my high school friends who didn't go to college but landed a steady job/career and seemed to know what they wanted to do for a long time or even for life

i did end up two years in a hardware store which led me to being a gardener/landscaper for my main career for the next decade after that...i thought they made huge money, or at least it seemed that way compared to the six dollars an hour i topped out at in the hardware store ;)

the last five years has me being a computer techie but i am itching to finally do something creative with it for a change instead of being the fix it dude for IT issues

my wife has been a professional graphic designer on and off for two decades and is now considering something else

5. PlaceofDis macrumors Core