How many use Apple Lossles (.alac) on your iPhone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by pogoyoyo, Dec 5, 2012.

?

Do you use .alac on your iPhone/iPod

  1. Yes

    15 vote(s)
    28.3%
  2. No

    29 vote(s)
    54.7%
  3. What is .alac / lossless?

    8 vote(s)
    15.1%
  4. You can put lossless on the iPhone? Blew my mind.

    1 vote(s)
    1.9%
  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #1
    How many of you use .alac on your iPhone? Places you go to get your .alac's?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    I use ALAC on my CD rip collection, when syncing to my portable devices I let iTunes down convert to 128k to save space.
    I use XLD for ripping.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Djlild7hina

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #3
    Use FLAC for my main collection and use mp3 320kbps for mobile devices
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    vastoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    #4
    I use 320 and lossless on my phone, but only because I don't keep multiple copies of each on my computer. I don't let it downgrade to 128 either. I just let it sync as is. Sure it uses more space, but I only keep certain playlists or artist on my phone anyway.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    sviato

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    HR 9038 A
    #5
    Had some FLAC albums but iTunes wouldn't take them -.-
     
  6. macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #6
    I only use my car speakers and my earbuds to listen to music from my phone. Higher quality files than what iTunes sells really won't be gaining me much.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Wuiffi

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Location:
    Austria
    #7
    Use Max to convert FLAC to ALAC
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    #8
    Same here, except I do 256 kbps. ALAC or any lossless files are a bit useless on a mobile device.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #9
    Toast Titanium for Mac also works fantastic and is very easy to use.
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #10
    The nice thing about FLAC and ALAC is that they are both lossless formats. Once you've converted your FLACs to ALAC, you can even delete the FLACs; you won't lose a thing. If in the future you move to a platform that doesn't support ALAC, but does support FLAC, you can convert them back and be right where you started.

    Max is an excellent free tool for this. I've put it though many paces!
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    AppleMark

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    The CCTV Capital of the World
    #11
    Zero.

    Because if I want to listen to high quality music I do not use my iPhone. I use my home audio set-up for that...
     
  12. macrumors G5

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #12
    Same with me. I'm not an audiophile so I just use whatever iTunes converts it to.
     
  13. macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
    #13
    No, I use iTunes Match on my iPhone.

    I do put lossless on my iPod touch.

    Also it's .m4a not .alac ;)
     
  14. macrumors 603

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #14
    ALAC is now open source, so chances are you're going to be hard pressed over time to find something that doesn't support ALAC but does support FLAC. Pretty much any software using the libavcodec supports ALAC now.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    #15
    Sometimes, I generally use ~400kbps aac files via the Nero AAC codec + foobar2000.
     
  16. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #16
    I buy almost all of my stuff from iTunes, so no lossless here. I also mostly use EarPods and my car stereo -- the speakers are nice now, but the head unit is still about 7 watts of factory tinnage. So it makes zero sense to even think about using anything like that. Heck, I downconvert to 128k because 16GB feels like 1GB.

    I'd appreciate seeing Apple offer some higher-quality music along the lines of DTS audio. I'm not sure of the technical specifics of it, but I remember being blown away by DTS quality on DVDs in the 1990s. We're still using just 2 channels on most music audio.

    This wouldn't help much with earbuds, but it would help when streaming to Apple TV or to a car system if it was a good quality one. Plus I'm sure the music companies would love to sell some upcharged music like the movie studios love charging an extra $5 for HD movies.
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    TyPod

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    And Yourself?
    #17
    I tried this for while but ended up getting too lazy to convert to FLAC for my collection. Now i'm a steady 320kbps listener.
     
  18. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #18
    Yes. One of the reasons I got a 64GB phone
     

Share This Page