how much faster?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by DisFrikkenWill, Apr 6, 2006.

  1. DisFrikkenWill macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #1
    Is the powerbook pro really faster then the powerbook g4? all im gonna be doing is some basic editing in FCP and AE. im just looking for the one that has faster rendering time.
     
  2. virus1 macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #2
    hahaha...

    and to think i was actually gonna answer you..

    fine.. yes. by a crapload.
     
  3. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    The Universal Binary version of FCP on a MacBook Pro will kick the crap out of a PB G4. AE, as I understand it, will run about the same on both because since AE isn't UB yet it has to run under emulation on the MacBook Pro.

    And ignore virus1 as he's typically useless.


    Lethal
     
  4. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #4
    If you have anywhere near $2000 and more, get the macbook pro. It beats the living **** out of the PowerBook G4. AND...If you read one of the threads, it mentions the MBP beating a Dual 2 G5.:p
     
  5. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
  6. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6
    Rest assured DisFrikkenWill, the MacBook Pro is a leap ahead of the PowerBook G4 in terms of performance provided that you are running programs that are universal binaries (runs natively on both PowerPC & Intel chips). :)
     
  7. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    IT IS A LOT FASTER!!! lol

    Think about it... would Apple release a "slower" computer than they have currently out? lol. Just a thought, but yes the MBP is much faster, im typing on it right now.. with a free battery that Apple sent me :) lol. (I have 2 now) :)
     
  8. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    It's MacBook Pro, not PowerBook Pro.

    ...but to answer your question, the new MacBook Pro is much faster (4x according to Apple).
     
  9. dayosx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #9
    Ah, but there are other considerations... What about Adobe CS2? Don't tell me you don't run that at all. Well, it's significantly slower, and there isn't any alternative UniBin program to date that will fill the gap. Unless someone can come up with a suggestion?
     
  10. DisFrikkenWill thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #10
    also what version of fcp will i need? i already have fcp 4.5
     
  11. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #11
    FCP 5 with Universal update.
     
  12. supremedesigner macrumors 6502a

    supremedesigner

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Location:
    Gainesville, Fl
    #12
    If you want to have AE on MacBook, I think it's better if you use BootCamp to use AE on XP (heard it's a lot faster on CS, so I assume AE is faster too). Check it out! :cool:
     
  13. DisFrikkenWill thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #13
    so that means i wont be able to use my FCP 4.5?
     
  14. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #14
    No. Non-UB Apple's Pro apps wont launch on intel-based Macs
     

Share This Page