How much HD space would I need to run Vista with Aero?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by 66217, Jan 10, 2007.

  1. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #1
    I am running bootcamo right now, and I am at the step of selecting partition size. For now I would only install XP, but plan on installing Vista later. How much hard drie space I need as a minimum.

    Am I going to be able to upgrade from XP to Vista? Or would I need to erase everything and start bootcamp again?

    Thanks,

    Roco:)
     
  2. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #2
    I don't know how much Vista takes up, but as long as you leave plenty of space for XP (how big are you thinking?) you should have room for the upgrade to Vista.
     
  3. 66217 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #3
    That's the part where I am confused. It says Vista takes 15Gb, but somewhere I read the minimum space is 40Gb. But I am not exactly sure if that is mandatory. I mean, I would never use up 25Gb in Windows. Only plan to use it for maybe one game and other apps.

    Roco,:)
     
  4. timswim78 macrumors 6502a

    timswim78

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #4
    I have a clean installation of Vista, and it takes about 11GB. Considering that you'll want to install a few programs, and that Windows likes at least 15% free disk space, I'd suggest about 25GB or so.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Tarkovsky macrumors 6502

    Tarkovsky

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    London/Norwich
    #5
    Don't want to rain on your parade but doesn't upgrading to vista seem a bit pointless if your just running games as for the moment at least all games run on XP? Seems like 10 gig too much!
     

Share This Page