How much is to much Ram???

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by mocman, Apr 13, 2005.

  1. mocman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    #1
    I love my Powermac dual. It has 8 slots for ram and I was needing to know how much is suffice. I have 1.5 gig already and would like to know if it would just be overkill in adding more.
    Thanks in advance........
     
  2. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #2
    Depends what your main use is with your PowerMac....?
     
  3. mocman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    #3
    I do photoshop,graphic software and alot of other stuff. I am starting a digital memory service and will also do alot of video. This is my everyday machine and I do all that I can.
    I know on windoz the cut off was a gig and the rest was just overkill. I want to know if this mac is the same.....
     
  4. mcadam macrumors 6502a

    mcadam

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    københavn
    #4
    To much ram - is that possible... sorry, if I hadn't said it somebody else would :p

    I'm interested in the answer though

    A
     
  5. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #5
    Running graphic apps like Photoshop, I would say you're fine where your at. Doing video however, may require more....about 2GB ram from what I've read.

    I've heard this as well. Like Photoshop only saw/used 100MB ram (at least with OS X). I made a thread on it a while ago actually. I'm sure someone with more knowledge in that area can clear that up.
     
  6. revenuee macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #6
    when do you have to much ram?

    when you run out of slots to fit it in or you buy more ram then the computer can handle

    G5 can handle 8 gigs, you bought 12 --- thats to much ram ... LOL
     
  7. JzzTrump22 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    Don't bother upgrading unless you get into serious movie/photo editing.
     
  8. revenuee macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #8
    ya ... i could see myself having dual 30" screens, 8 Gigs of Ram, terabytes upon terabytes of hard drive space, and still run out of screen realesate and resources ... meh
     

Share This Page