How much memory for tiger ?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by veryfastmac, Jul 28, 2006.

  1. veryfastmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #1
    I just bought a pismo and installed a G4 550 cpu upgrade and am running tiger with 512mb of ram my question is will it be worth the cash to upgrade the ram to 1gig? I already put a 160 gig hd 5400 rpm and everything seems to be running great but I have just orderd a DvD burner and plan to use it to copy Comercial DVD's so I can take the back up copy and leave the original at home.I must admit although this is not my first mac it is my first mac laptop and I am pretty pleased over all .I was selling alot of the G4 upgrades and felt it was time that I actually owned one so when a customer asks I can tell them from personal experience instead of reading them the company memo's
     
  2. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #2
    512MB really is the minimum you should have for 10.4, 1GB would really make a difference.
     
  3. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #3
    It would help, and since its a low end G4(still nice but its a fairly older chip) the 1Gb RAM would help things move along
     
  4. veryfastmac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #4
    I will order the memory right away,thanks for the quick replies:)
     
  5. DarkNetworks macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
  6. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
  7. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #7
    Yes, I agree with everyone: for smooth performance in simple tasks (no Aperture for example) 1GB is fine. For serious heavy work, 2 GBs is minimum. (I'm speaking out of my own experience)
     
  8. slackersonly macrumors 6502a

    slackersonly

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #8
    i started with 500mb and thought well this is ok.
    i then upgraded to 1.5gb and am very glad i did. i like to have 4-5 apps open at once and 1.5gb works great.
     
  9. JFreak macrumors 68040

    JFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    #9
    1GB/CPU is fine with even very serious audio/video work, but more memory never hurts.
     
  10. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #10
    Hah. My TiBook has only 384 and it's running Tiger decently. Course, it's not a speed demon, but it gets the job done.
     

Share This Page