how much memory is enough?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by nas2344, Jan 31, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Location:
    CT
    #1
    right now i got the iPhone 8gb version and its not nearly enough for me, so what do you guys think is enough? I'm going to be using it for pictures and music and apps. now big into video.

    thanks
     
  2. macrumors 604

    cynics

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #2
    Depends....how much data do you have?

    For example if you have 20 gb then 16 gb iPhone won't be enough. :)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Location:
    CT
    #3
    well has anyone here gotten the 32gb and felt it wasn't enough space?
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #4
    16 was too small for me on my 4, but my 32 GB 4S has been a good size. Never felt cramped... Have about 6 GB free now. Everyone is different, though.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #5
    Mine's maxed out :p. Buy the most memory you can afford :)
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #6
    With iCloud I only need to store app data and apps with some ibooks on my phone. I bought the 16Gb for this version and it's more than sufficient.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #7
    I had the 32gb iPhone 4, now the 16gb 4s and I must say having less storage has forced me to really pick and choose my favorite apps, (out of 200+) which in turned made me more productive, believe or not.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #8
    The biggest reason that I upgraded from an iPhone 4 to a 4S was because of the increased capacity. My 32GB was always maxed out with music and GPS apps. Now on the 64GB 4S, I have all my iTunes purchased music including 158 music videos, 78 apps and I still have 9GB free.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    B777Forevar

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    Yeah I have the 32GB ip4, and it's maxed out. The next time I upgrade, imma get the 64GB.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Fox Cities, WI
    #10
    16gb

    16gb is enough for me. Even though I have lots more music, videos, etc., than that, I'm fine with 16.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #11
    Video recording or just watching them? If you're recording you totally want the 32 or even 64GB, because the videos on the 4S are huge! If you're just watching, it's not so much of an issue because you don't need full HD and the files are much smaller.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A406 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I have a 16 and it's okay. I can only hold 2 or 3 movies, around 4000 pictures, and around 4000 mp3s. What I do is upload any hd movies I take into YouTube and then delete them off my phone.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #13
    I have 16GB and it's enough for me - I have music, videos, pictures, apps etc. on it and I've not had any problems. But that doesn't really help you...
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    nanogirl21

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    #14
    Sorry I don’t mean to change the direction of this post but I have a question that is along the same lines a lot of people are saying that 16 gb wasn’t enough is this because you guys are adding a lot of music and video? I am getting my first iphone next week and I was looking at the 16GB. I do not plan to add more than 100 songs at a time on the phone because I do have an ipod. However I do plan to have a lot of games email pictures and sms messages and jailbreak the phone. Do you guys think that 16GB would be too small for that? I am unsure how big apps are since I never really experienced the joy of having them (I am switching over from blackberry). Thanks for any help.
     
  15. macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #15
    My first computer in college:

    6GB HDD
    64MB RAM
    550Mhz processor

    (my) First iPhone

    8GB storage
    128MB RAM
    412Mhz processor

    Times change, get the largest capacity you can.
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #16
    Newb.

    My first computer.
    256k of RAM
    NO HDD
    dual 360k floppies
    4.77MHz 8088

    LOL. Oh BTW, I found 8GB to be too small, my next phone will be 32 or 64GB.
     
  17. macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #17
    I said college :)

    FIRST computer

    1.03Mhz processor
    128KB memory
    no HDD
    140KB 5.25" floppies

    Man, Frogger ran like butter on that sexy beast....
     
  18. macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #18
    You did say College; mine was about the same but a little worse. I know it was a 485-50 (80486 50MHz), but I don't recall the HD and RAM size; but it couldn't have been too much, I'm thinking 4MB of RAM and a 200MBish HDD. I do remember, while in college, finding a place that went out of business and I was able to buy all their server hard drives for about $500 (about 10 500MB drives). I turned around and sold each drive for $300. So I know 500MB drives were available but damn expensive.

    You had an AppleII as your first machine?
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #19
    Can't beat a good thread derailment!

    32KB
    0.89MHz
    No HDD
    No floppy
    No monitor

    (Dragon 32, most notable for the fact that it was made in wales! It loaded stuff from tape and connected to a regular tv.)
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Central U.S.
    #20
    I have a 32 GB model, and I am only using 16 GB out of 32 GB.
     
  21. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #21
    Some have, some have not. You need to use your needs/wants. Polling others is not the way to determine how much is suitable for you.

    Impossible to answer. The content you're asking about is not fixed in size and a "lot" really doesn't mean anything. There's no such thing as too much storage space.
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    akdj

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #22
    LOL...the thread "Derailment" comment as well:)

    My senior year in college/pre-master's...My dorm room mate sported the 1.023Mhz Proc with 64k RAM and 16k ROM. I did end up expanding my RAM to 256 at one point...and my sweet 16 color 280x192 monitor... Wow! I didn't even realize the specs til I looked up my ol' Apple IIe:) I do remember how happy I was to get the second 5.25" floppy drive...able to copy a friend's "Castle Wolfenstein" and "Ultima IV"!

    My fresh, soph and junior years I was on an IBM Selectric:cool:

    J
     
  23. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Location:
    CT
    #23
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Yeah it's going to be either the 32gb or 64gb
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    motoleo

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #24
    I think 32 may be just right for me- but an 8gig, not enough.

    You don't actually get to use 8gigs. You only get to use 6.
     
  25. macrumors 601

    ixodes

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Coast, USA
    #25
    Speaking of trains... Oh, oh, wrong forum :)

    On topic, since I buy a new iPhone each year, the size I choose is 16GB. That's still plenty of room to keep all the music & other data I need on a regular basis.

    Then I simply keep my master iTunes library on my network & rotate what I load onto my iPhone as needed. I've got a vast library of music, videos, and other entertainment, too much to even think of keeping it on one device.

    There's no reason to. :)
     

Share This Page