How much RAM can i fit into my macbook?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by huhwtfisthis?, May 17, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    huhwtfisthis?

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #1
    i have a macbook with the standard 1GB RAM, and will need more RAM when i download Adobe's Creative Suite 3 package. I am just wondering what is the max amount of RAM that can be added to my macbook. in the system profiler it says L2 Cache: 4 GB, does that mean i can put in 4 more GB into my macbook, or can i only put in 3GB making 4 when added to the 1GB that came standard on my mac?
     
  2. JNB
    macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #2
    Current series (and the last, though it won't use all of it) is 2 X 2GB, or 4GB total. So the max you can have if you have a single 1GB stick and don't want to replace it is 3GB (the original 1 X 1GB, + 1 X 2GB).

    This info is all available on the Apple Support site for your machine, btw. All the major RAM resellers also have online configurators. Current street price for a full 4GB is $80-$100.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    huhwtfisthis?

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #3
    thank you,
    just to clarify what u said, i can get a 1gb stick and a 2gb stick for my macbook, and thats the maximum amount i can get?
     
  4. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    We have a Guide for this, and many other commonly asked questions.

    Under the Guides tab at the top

    Guides : Hardware : Understanding Intel Mac RAM
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    huhwtfisthis?

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #5
    not helpful at all
     
  6. macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    Odd that it was not helpful to you because it quite clearly states that the RAM limit is 4GB max. It also states that you can run either 1GB and 2GB sticks to acheive 3GB total or use 2 2GB sticks to make 4GB total (3-3.3GB visible).
     
  7. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    The point here is you need to know what version of MacBook you have

    If you have the 2.0 GHz machine, you could have a CoreDuo or a Core2Duo
    You can tell under the Apple Manu : About this Mac

    If it is the CoreDuo, you can install only 2 GB ( 2 x 1 GB SODIMMs)

    If it is the Core2Duo, you can install 3 GB ( 2 GB + 1 GB ) or 4 GB ( 2 x 2 GB )

    The early Core2Duos can recognize only 3 GD of the 4 GB if you were to install 2 x 2 GB. Starting with the SantaRosa models in 2007, they can recognize the full 4 GB

    If this is the 2.0 GHz machine in your sig, then it is a Pre-SantaRosa and will recognize 3 GB only. There is a small benefit to installing the 4 GB because you will get a 6% - 8% speed boost from the matching pair.

    Welcome to MacRumors.
    We encourage you to Search the forums and look in the Guides because we get the same questions every day of the week and it takes a lot of time to answer them. Also, when asking questions please be specific about the model of machine you have, that way we don't have to guess, or write answers for each possible scenario.
     

Share This Page