How much RAM can I install?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sdahe, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a Macbook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2009) and I would like to know how much RAM will accept. Right now I have 4GB of RAM in it. I think it came with that much. Can I put 6 or 8 GB?

    Thanks for the help
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
    • By visiting EveryMac.com: Actual Maximum RAM
    • By using Mactracker
    • By entering your serial number here to find specs for your model. (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac or MacTracker to verify.)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #3
    Thanks.... :)
     
  4. Sdahe, Jan 19, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2012

    thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #4
    It looks that I can go all the way up to 8GB

    This is the info:
    *Apple officially supports a maximum of 4 GB of RAM. Originally, this model was only unofficially capable of stably supporting 6 GB of RAM, but as confirmed by site sponsor OWC, it is capable of supporting 8 GB of RAM if updated to Boot ROM Version MBP51.007E.B05 and running MacOS X 10.6 "Snow Leopard."

    Where is the best place to buy them?

    ----------

    My current Boot Version is - MBP53.00AC.B03

    This means I can go up to 8GB right?
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #5
  6. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #6
    What's wrong with OWC?
     
  7. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Nothing. They're a well-established company with an excellent reputation. I highly recommend them, based both on personal experience, as well as thousands of recommendations in this forum over the years. As with any company that does a lot of business, you'll find isolated cases where someone had a less than satisfying experience, but those are quite rare.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #8
    Cool... thanks guys!

    I will add this to my next buy list...
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #9
    I guess the difference would be noticeable...

    Anyone with the same experience with a similar machine?... that would share a feedback on how the computer works after the upgrade to 8GB...
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #10
    I don't own a similar machine, but if you are bumping up against your 4 gig ceiling then an upgrade will help performance.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #11
    You have not indicated whether you are using a SSD or not. But if not, this is an area where you will see a HUGE performance increase. You would not be disappointed.......
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #12
    Yeah... I have a friend that told me that... I'm considering changing to a SSD too and make it part of the new update. More RAM and a SSD... Nice... That would give me a totally new Macbook Pro... Hahahaha. And make me very happy. :)
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #13
    If you don't run virtual machines or professional software requiring lots of RAM, there is absolutely no need to upgrade it. My 27" iMac at work runs no faster with 8 GB than my home machine with 4 GB. But when I run virtual machines the extra memory is useful.
     

Share This Page