How much RAM can my MacBook take?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by sou1 so1di3r, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #1
    I have a black MacBook, June 2008 with 4GB of RAM from Apple installed.. can I put in any more... this baby is getting sluggish but I don't want to drop 2,000 bucks on another MacBook :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belfast
    #2
    6GB of Ram.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #3
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #4
  5. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
    • By visiting EveryMac.com: Actual Maximum RAM
    • By using Mactracker
    • By entering your serial number here to find specs for your model. (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac or MacTracker to verify.)
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #7
  8. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    They don't have to be the same brand. I doubt there'd be much difference between a 2-4 and a 4-4. I think I'd go for the 4-4.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #9
    That macbook can take up to 6GB. I would recommend a match pair.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #10
    So you recommend 2 x 3GB sticks then ??

    Any idea where we can buy them ? :)
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #11
    There is no 2 x 3 gb only 2 + 4 gb. And OWC happens to be selling them.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belfast
    #12
    4+2 isn't matched though...
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #13
  14. macrumors newbie

    Blueimac

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Location:
    Paris (not France) for now
    #14
    MacBook A1181 upgraded to 6GB of memory

    I recently upgraded my MacBook (13.3 inch Early 2008) (MB402LL/A) Model No. A1181 Intel, Core 2 Duo 2.1 GHz to 6GB of memory - Apple specs said 4GB was the limit but I found more information online that said differently. It's running so much faster now -

    2GB DDR2 PC2 5300 667 (Rendition by Crucial) and a 4GB DDR2 PC2 5300 667 (Patroit)

    [​IMG]
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #15
    3GB sticks don't exist. You'd have to go with 1x2 and 1x4
    Yea, the limit is 6GB I believe
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #16
    I am not saying that the 2 + 4 is matched, I am recommending a match memory... so that would be 2 + 2...
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #17
    6Gb RAM

    Hi,

    i have the same Macbook Model, MB402LL/A, and i wanted to upgrade it to 6gb RAM. I've already got a 4gb RAM and a 2gb RAM, but when i used both memory, my macbook won't open up.

    But when I use my old 1Gb RAM and the new 4Gb RAM, it work just fine. (which makes it 5Gb RAM)

    Is there anything that i should do first before maximizing it to 6Gb RAM? if not, what do you think is the problem?
     

Share This Page