How much RAM do you have

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by spicyapple, Aug 14, 2006.

?

How much RAM do you have?

Poll closed Dec 11, 2006.
  1. Under 512MB

    3 vote(s)
    0.8%
  2. 512MB to <1GB

    57 vote(s)
    16.0%
  3. 1GB to <2GB

    123 vote(s)
    34.5%
  4. 2GB to <3GB

    99 vote(s)
    27.7%
  5. 3GB to <4GB

    23 vote(s)
    6.4%
  6. 4GB to <6GB

    31 vote(s)
    8.7%
  7. 6GB to <8GB

    5 vote(s)
    1.4%
  8. 8GB and greater

    16 vote(s)
    4.5%
  1. spicyapple macrumors 68000

    spicyapple

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #1
    in your primary Mac? (just your main machine... don't add up the RAM in all your Macs.)
     
  2. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #2
    Not sure why you care, or why I'm posting: I've got 1.5GB in my 15" powerbook.

    Let the showing off begin!
     
  3. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
  4. spicyapple thread starter macrumors 68000

    spicyapple

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #4
    :)

    I use my machine mainly for video editing. I'd like to see how much RAM other MR members have and what they use it for.

    @viccles: I have 3GB
     
  5. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
  6. macdon401 macrumors 6502

    macdon401

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    #6
    ...iMac 20 ----- 1.5 G's....everything runs smooooth!
    R
     
  7. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #7
    Dual core 2.0Ghz PMG5 running 5Gb RAM. Bit of an odd number but hey, it gets me by. (2x 512mb, 4x 1Gb)

    FCS, After Effects Pro, Motion, and Shake are my most used apps. After adium and safari, of course... :rolleyes:
     
  8. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #8
    I've got far too little on this machine, 768 MB on a 1.33 GHz PowerBook G4. I regularly need more because I can hear it digging into the hard drive while slowly tremendously. My older machines were at full capacity. Still, it works reasonably well, though I'd be pleased to see performance improved at double the RAM.
     
  9. seenew macrumors 68000

    seenew

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #10
    2GB in my 20" iMac.

    Would have liked to have 4GB, but alas, 2GB is the max. :(
     
  10. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #11
    2GB here. Mac Pro will also have 2GB but I'd like to extend that to 4GB in the not-so-distant future.
     
  11. brikeh macrumors 6502a

    brikeh

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
  12. merc669 macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #13
    Just added another Gig to my MBP for a total of 2. Nice!!

    Bill....:cool:
     
  13. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #14
    I have 1GB RAM. it's been fine everyday use. but I will add 2GB next month. actually, I also replaced hard drive. it's now 120GB. plus, I have another 120GB SATA macbook hard drive. it will be used for external drive.
     
  14. macg4 macrumors 6502a

    macg4

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Des Moines,Iowa
  15. quruli macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #16
    The iMac's chipset can handle four. Due to the cost of the 2GB modules it many not be feasible. I think the iMac can take 4GB, but I am not going to spend the money to find out.
     
  16. Kernow macrumors 65816

    Kernow

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames
  17. Cameront9 macrumors 6502a

    Cameront9

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #18
    I have 2 GB in my G4 Powerbook, which is overkill for most of the stuff I do, but sure does come in handy when I start messing around in my 9000-photos and growing iPhoto Library.
     
  18. thegreatluke macrumors 6502a

    thegreatluke

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Location:
    Earth
    #19
    512 MB in my MacBook Pro, and 1.3 GB (512+512+256+64 MB) in my dead Sawtooth.

    My MacBook Pro seriously needs a RAM update though.
     
  19. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #20
    My 3GB now seems woefully inadequate. :) Maybe I should check out some of those emails in my junk mail folder about lengthening my RAM. :)
     
  20. amac4me macrumors 65816

    amac4me

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
  21. Mr. Mister macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    #22
    When I get my Mac Pro I'm gonna load in another 1GB methinks.
     
  22. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #23
    1 GB in MacBook (2x512 MB). I wonder who besides iGary has 8 GB or greater. He has a Quad with 8 GB RAM!:eek: :D
     
  23. slackersonly macrumors 6502a

    slackersonly

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006

Share This Page