How much RAM on an iBook?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by iMatt mini, Aug 15, 2005.

  1. iMatt mini macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #1
    512, 768 or 1 GB for:
    Using simple programs simultaneously(sp?) such as iChat, Mail, Safari, some word processing software, etc. Nothing big like Photoshop.

    If I were to get photoshop in the future, will it run well with 512 RAM or is it easy to upgrade RAM?

    Thanks,
    Matt
     
  2. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #2
    RAM is EXTREMELY EASY to install! like a 2 minute percedure ;)

    I'd get another 512 stick since there is 512 soldered to the mobo, to equal 1GB with that you'll be able to do iChat, Mail, Safari, and Word/Pages very well, if that isn't overdoing it, but if you are going to be doing those + photoshop get a GB stick to equal 1.5GB RAM

    Hope that helps :)
     
  3. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #3
    Well I was hoping not to spend too much. Is it really easy to open up an iBook and put some RAM in?
    I've opened up an IBM and it's easy but that has nice easy buttons to open up the case. ;)
    What's required? Unscrewing stuff? :confused:
    You don't think 512 is enough for the basic apps?
    I doubt I'll be getting photoshop.
    I could always upgrade later I suppose.
     
  4. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    Oh, well all you need is to pop up the keyboard.. VERY easy.. then unscrew four screws and pop it in..

    512MB will do good.
    Anything above really is overdoing it for what you are describing.
    But the 1.5GB makes everything very snappy.
    If you are unsure, get an extra 256MB to be sure. :)
    Hope that helps :)
     
  5. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #5
    I read somewhere that it only has one slot though...is that true? I was thinking about buying another 512 but that would be a waste if there's only one DIMM. ;)
     
  6. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #6
    That would be my recommendation. Get your beauty of an iBook and use it for awhile. See if it feels ok or if indeed, it feels sluggish for your needs. Then think about getting more RAM. I'm glad that that was the way I went w/ my PB.

    And I'm pretty sure that the new iBooks come w/ 512MB soldered and another empty RAM slot.
     
  7. joecool85 macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #7
    It's true, one DIMM. But, there is 512 soldered on. So getting a 512 would put you at 1gb. My rev a PB has 640 ram in it and I can do Photoshop stuff just fine, even with my 867mhz G4. So I don't see why 512mb ram on a faster processor would be a problem. I mean, its not speed machine, but I've used it for some pretty heavy (100-200mb files) editing since it is part of my major at school. I would say get it with 512 and if later you need more, buy more. But like I said, you should be fine doing pretty much anything you've described with ease on 512mb.
     
  8. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #8
    Well I have an HP Laptop right now, with 512 RAM and it works fine. And that's running Dreamweaver, Photoshop, ImageReady, Firefox, GAIM, Outlook Express and iTunes at the same time.
    So I think I should be good. :cool:
    Thanks for all the help everyone! :D
     
  9. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    As i HAVE a new iBook and HAVE upgraded the RAM i can conform.. 512 is SOLDERED to the motherboard + an empty slot... ;)
     
  10. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #10
    That's good to know, thanks!
    I just don't understand one thing about Mac's. I have an HP laptop right now, with about 3.00 GHz Processor, so how do Mac's only go up to like 2.0 GHz on a PowerMac? I would think a PowerMac would be more like 4.0 GHz :rolleyes:
    Is there like a conversion I don't know about or is it the same rate as a Windows based PC would have?
    Basically, how does an iBook's 1.33 GHz compare to my laptop's 3.0 GHz, is it really less than half the speed?
     
  11. macbaseball macrumors 6502a

    macbaseball

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Northern California
    #11
    It's a different type of processor made by IBM. IBM can't make it faster, as it has heating issues once it gets into the higher speeds.

    As for your situation, I wouldn't get a 512 chip. If you going to do Photoshop your going to want the 1.5 gigs of RAM, and if your not then you really don't need a gig. So if I were you I would buy a 256 chip, and if I got Photoshop, then I would get the 1 gig chip. Take into consideration, that if you buy the 512 chip, and want to upgrade soon after, then you have to get rid of the 512 chip. Your most likely going to lose money when you resell the RAM. If you got the 512 chip, you investment would be really small, yet it would be useful for the apps you use.

    Personally, I like the third party vendor, datamem.com. Although they aren't the cheapest, they make really high quality RAM, and have excellent service.
     
  12. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #12
    You guys have been so much help so I might as well ask all my questions here:
    Is it worth it to upgrade the HD space or is 40 GB suitable?
     
  13. macbaseball macrumors 6502a

    macbaseball

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Northern California
    #13
    If you need a bigger hard drive, I would definitely do it through Apple. It is very difficult to upgrade the hard drives on an iBook, and it will void the warranty if they can tell you didn't take it to a Apple Certified Technician. Often times there are extra screws that don't go back into the right holes, which tips Apple off. Basically, if you want to do any type of internal video storage, or use Final Cut Pro, then I would upgrade to a larger drive. How much larger - it depends on what you plan to do.
     
  14. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #14
    I think most people will ask whether or not you have an external HD and if not, then they'd either tell you to upgrade your HD or get an external one. Personally, I'm not tech savy so I would just pay to have a larger HD... but that's just me. :eek:
     
  15. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #15
    One thing you have to understand about Macs: You can not compare the proccesors. AT ALL.

    I mean, seriously, they are completly different in every way and form, ask anyone on this forum and they will agree with me.

    Even though the Macs are not clocked as high as the Intels, doesn't mean they don't go as fast or faster ;)
    PLUS
    you have the Mac OS X Tiger -- Stable, fast os

    I can't really explain it well, i'm just saying that the PowerPC proccesors are NOT comparable to the Intel/AMD procceors because they are COMLETLEY DIFFERENT, even the AMD and Intel processors are differnt, I'm just saying, you just can't compare them :)

    Hope that helps! :)
     
  16. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #16
    Do know this... 14GB is taken off the HD right when you buy it, from Mac OS X Tiger + iLife + Languages (can be removed from Decoliazer (sp?) )

    I'd get 60GB if I were you, I got 80GB on my 14"

    Hope that helps :)
     
  17. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #17
    That is exactly what I wanted to know. I was pretty sure they weren't the same because I wouldn't think Apple would cheap out on us like that. :D

    Is it easy to take my iBook to a "Genius" and have them install a bigger harddrive without losing my stuff or should I just buy a bigger one now :p
    If it's possible, how much do they charge for parts and labor?
     
  18. macbaseball macrumors 6502a

    macbaseball

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Northern California
    #18
    Buy it now. It's a much better deal, put you don't have to deal with the hassle. It's just going to cost you more in the long run.

    I would disagree with that. Apple thinks their processors are sub-par, as why would they switch to Intel if they didn't. Obviously, Apple believes that Intel makes better processors in the short term and the long term, otherwise why would they do the transition. You buy a Mac for the Operating System, not for the processor.

    Is Tiger fast on the current processors - Yes

    Is Tiger a lot faster on Intel Macs - Yes, according to the current developers it is.
     
  19. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #19
    Any comments, suggestions?
     
  20. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #20
    If you want to take advantage of the printer rebate and/or Student Union rebate, then you have to have the iPod and printer on that same "receipt."
     
  21. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #21
    I have a printer and I have an iPod. Rebates=Hassle for stuff I don't need. So thanks, but no thanks. ;)
     
  22. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #22
    Well my iBook doesn't seem to qualify for the iPod rebate:
    The following computers qualify for this offer: all PowerBook models, all iMac models, all Power Mac models, and all iBook models excluding the 12-inch iBook CD.
     
  23. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #23
    Yours does... the iBook CD refers to a now "extinct" model which is not even able to write CDs, you can only read CDs... your model is the 12" Combo drive and as such, would still qualify for the rebate if you wanted to go through w/ it.
     
  24. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #24
    Oh, that's kind of misleading then. I wouldn't use it anyways and everyone except my mom has one, and she wouldn't use it. :)
     
  25. CubaTBird macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    #25
    speaking as an ibook user... 768 is good enough for tiger/panther.. i never had any problems or slow downs and if i did it was b/c i was trying to batch file a song from garageband and chat with someone on ichat so that was my fault... but yeah 768 i think is the "norm" now in the mac community
     

Share This Page