How much RAM?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by mms, Jan 16, 2004.

  1. mms macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #1
    I have a Lombard that I would like to upgrade to Panther from OS 9. I have 192 megs of RAM installed. Although Apple says the minimum required is 128 megs, I have often heard that for OS X, the more RAM there is, the better it is.

    I'm wondering, just how much is enough? I just want to get enough that OS X would run smoothly, about as well as OS 9 does.

    Also, where is the best place to get RAM and does brand matter?
     
  2. robotrenegade macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #2
    I would get at least 768 or more. A apple rep pointed me to these ppl for ram. Its all I use for both of my computers.

    Ramjet
     
  3. mms thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #3
    Thanks, I'll look into it. Any other opinions?

    Does anybody know what is the maximum amount of RAM that could be in a Lombard? I'm having trouble finding out, with conflicting sources. apple-history.com says 512 is max, while theapplemuseum.com says that 384 is. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  4. iEric macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #4
    I think its 384. Why don't you call the Apple?
     
  5. manitoublack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    32bit systems can handel up to 4GB of RAM. However this isn't an option in your case. Give apple a call and see what the max is for your system and go from there.

    www.pricewatch.com is a great place to shop.
     
  6. dukemeiser macrumors 6502a

    dukemeiser

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Location:
    Iowa
    #6
    It depends on what Lombard your talking about (Mhz wise). Might try looking at everymac.com

    I wouldn't try RamJet. Try dealram.com instead. Comparing the two, dealram always finds the lower prices.
     
  7. crazytom macrumors 6502a

    crazytom

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    IL
    #7
    TransIntl.com has all the specs on memory for all the apple machines. The Lombard max memory is listed at 512.
     

Share This Page