How much room for Snow Leopard & software..?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Bmaintz, Nov 27, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #1
    Looking at the new MBA...
    How much of the SSD is taken with the operating system & software that comes with the MBA??
    Many Thanks
     
  2. Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    21,546
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #2
    IIRC 64GB has 49GB of usable space, 128GB has 102GB and 256GB has 208GB. OS X takes around 5GB (maybe a bit more due to iLife) and then there is ~17% (if OS X is 5GB) for over-provisioning
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #3
    Thanks,
    My Cow (Gateway) computer has used up 124 Gb of hardrive...
    Running Vista & a lot of picture files...
    Would the 128 Gb SSD be enough?

    Thanks again
    Bob
     
  4. Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    21,546
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #4
    How much data are you planning to move to the MBA? Remember not to fill the SSD too much or its performance will take a hit. If you're in a doubt, go for the 256GB so you don't have to worry. Or 128GB + external HD for infrequently accessed files
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    #5
    "Remember not to fill the SSD too much or its performance will take a hit."

    Not true--that isn't how SSDs work.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    692
    Location:
    is everything!
    #6
    Oh boy.. here we go.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Location:
    London
    #7
    "Remember not to fill the SSD too much or its performance will take a hit"

    That's a load of BS - you obviously have no clue how an SSD works.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #8
    Didn't mean to start a fight.....:eek:

    My data files are not that much...
    I do store pictures from my Canon 40D (8 mbs each, over 1,000 pictures)...
    May want to run Windows also but may try to get away from it all together...:)

    Is it easy to add the extra SSD later, thought it was mounted on the main board of the new MBA...?
    Bob
     
  9. Hellhammer, Nov 27, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2010

    Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    21,546
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #9
    Maybe I should have phrased it so that don't fill it completely, now it sounds like the more you have free, the better, which is not right. If you use every single byte on it, then you will take a hit because OS can't operate properly (no space for swap file for example). Having at least few GBs free is what I would.

    Besides, it doesn't sound like a good plan to get a new computer which doesn't have enough space for your needs.

    @OP, yes, the SSD can be replaced. It's not soldered, just held by one screw. See step 8:

    http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/MacBook-Air-11-Inch-Model-A1370-Teardown/3745
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    #10
    Agreed.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #11
    OK, thanks...
    I understand the Swap File & that you need enough storage for it to function...

    My question is.... to add more SSD at a later date, how hard would that be??
     
  12. Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    21,546
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #12
  13. macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    6,393
    #13
    When you get your Air, unless it's some specific game that you want to play that's Windows only, try your best to get your softwares on Mac. It's almost nothing on Windows that doesn't run on Mac and most of the Mac software has a better UI. Many people cop out and just install Windows (as if it's given to them for free, ah hem....) when they really don't have to. Times have changed. You'd be surprised how much good software there is on Mac. You don't necessarily need Windows anymore. The Mac App Store will make this even more of a reality soon enough. :) This in itself will save you valuable hard drive space by not installing Windows unnecessarily.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Location:
    Germany
    #14
    That's exactly how SSDs work .
    Empty space will be used for maintainance, paging etc., even over-provisioning .

    This is most true for MBAs, where users are more likely to write mainly small files all the time , and it's probable to hit virtual memory a lot; and with SSDs OSX can't even prevent the small file fragmentation it helps to prevent with mechanical HDDs .
     

Share This Page