How much space does vista take up?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Nitromaster, Mar 17, 2007.

  1. Nitromaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland.
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Nokia N70-3 Ireland-Opera: NokiaN70-1/2.0539.1.2/SN359380002126483 Series60/2.8 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1)

    Ive heard around 9gb,
    anyone got a breakdown on what uses how much space?
    Im guessing at least 2 gigabytes for files so older programs may work.
     
  2. SVG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    #2
    I actually installed on my desktop a while back and it took around 13 GBs, better at least have a 18 to 20 GB partition.
     
  3. joshysquashy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Thats a crazy amount of space!! OS X only takes like 2 - 3GB and XP isnt much more, what have they added that makes it 4 times as big?!

    I think 13GB for an OS is ridiculous! Must take forever to install!
     
  4. badmofo9000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Location:
    Shores of Lake Michigan
    #4
    I have vista in stalled and it is only taking up about 4 Gigs. That is not counting the 2 gigs taken by the programs folder. and the endless space taken by the sample videos/mp3's/photos they load on there. All together a basic install will probably take about 7 gigs.

    The install time is about half of what xp was.
     
  5. theman5725 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    #5
    If I were to use Boot Camp to make a 10GB partion, Vista would fit on it right?
     
  6. kinchee87 macrumors regular

    kinchee87

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    I did an install of Vista Ultimate on an NTFS drive with compression on and it has taken 7.42 GB
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    I don't know whether this has changed with the final release, but the betas wouldn't install to a volume smaller than 14 GB (I think I'm remembering that correctly). The installer wouldn't show you the volume at all if it was too small.
     
  8. BoA* macrumors member

    BoA*

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    FL
    #8
    Yikes! Does it run better than XP at least?
     
  9. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    I'll have to disagree with you when it comes to install time. For me, the install time, including the performance analysis, is roughly double the install time for Windows XP.
     
  10. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #10
    I disagree, my Vista install time took about half the time of XP. Also, my Vista Ultimate takes up about 12 gb...ouch!
     
  11. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #11
    lol, think about my XP only took 1.3G to install, and after 4 years of use windows system is still less than 3G. This Vista is kinda BIG, but again, I guess this is the trend, since ppl always has huge harddrive anyway.
     
  12. marioman318 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    louisiana
    #12
    install vista

    i installed home premium and it only took a half out and 12 gbs of space
     

Share This Page