how often does the weather widget update/refresh?

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by polobreaka, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #1
    is it every time you pull the notification down or does it update in the background?
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    On my iPad
    #2
    Every time you pull down.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #3
    thanks
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #4
    More reason why you should take both of them off your notification menu.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #5

    Why remove it ?

    I check mine on a morning and find the weather app ok and as its unobtrusive can see no reason to remove it from notifications.
     
  6. 3bs
    macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #6
    Yeah I like having it there too. Would be nice if we had more widgets too
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #7
    'both'? The topic is the weather widget. Singular.

    Provide a reason for your advice.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #8
    Yahoo doesn't provide that accurate weather for my area so I use TWC.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #9
    If you keep pulling down the notification bar, the weather app will keep using location services and thereby , use your battery...
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #10
    i dont use location for my weather.
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #11
    Notifications windows are viewed numerous times throughout the day so if it pings Stocks/Weather every time you pull down notifications then thats utilizing GPS which leads to more battery drain. And even without GPS then its using bandwidth that slows things down if using 3G.

    Obviously anyone can do what they want, but I live on the West Coast and weather is fairly constant so I only check weather once a day. I dumped Weather (and stocks) and just ask Siri.
     
  12. 3bs
    macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #12
    Living in Dublin means having the 4 seasons in one day isn't uncommon. In which case, the weather app is useless. I do have it but frequently it shows sunny weather when it's not and cloudy when it's raining. And I don't have it use my location so that means it'll only use 3G to check and not GPS
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #13
    it only uses location services when its pulled down. I would think the amount of battey used is very minimal.
     
  14. 3bs
    macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #14
    That depends on how often you pull notification centre down
     

Share This Page