How often is F@H servers down?

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by Over Achiever, Oct 26, 2002.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #1
    I finished a work unit, but I'm unable to send it. And I'm also unable to get a new work unit as well...:(

    Does this happen often? If so, how long are the servers usually down?
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #2
    Ok...now that I've finally connected...i've gotten a new work packet. However, my "stats" on my computer states that I only have 2 Finished WUs!:eek::confused: (graphical version on Windows)

    [EDIT]I should have three but I don't[/EDIT]

    Whats going on? I don't want to lose five points... :(
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Ok, mine seems to have been sent (not registered on web site), but cant get another unit!! Oh well, I'll give it a go in a couple of days + hope its been sorted out!
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    They have been especially bad this last week, probably due to releasing new proteins to be folded.

    It takes some time for new WUs to show up on the stats page, so don't fret too much about it. :)
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #5
    Re: How often is F@H servers down?

    Intermittently, usualy once or twice every 1-2 weeks.

    The servers can be down from hours to days (~2 days max I've seen it out). But it's usually out for just hours.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #6
    I'm not worried about that...its just that the work unit never got sent! :eek: I looked in the Folding at Home folder, and the results for that work unit are still in there! I don't think it got sent!?! Won't I miss the deadline?:confused:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #7
    Ok....I've been trying for over three hours to get a new work packet...but I keep getting refused by the server. I've shutdown and restarted F@H...etc.
     

Share This Page