How prevalent is the wifi issue on the new MBA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by etcher, Jun 24, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    #1
  2. macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    I bought 3 and none of them have the issue. My guess is it'll turn out to be something interfering (ie another app or piece of hardware) but not enough data has been collected yet. I wouldn't let it stop your purchase.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    #3
    Are you on an Apple router?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #4
    The issue seems widespread because only people with the problem are reporting anything. The other 99% of users who don't have problems aren't posting.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #5
    yes, but have used with non apple routers as well (I travel often so have used on over 20 routers in the last 2 weeks since purchase)
     
  6. macrumors regular

    JMountainDew

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    #6
    I have a Linksys router at home and an Actiontec router at work. My new mba connects and stays connected to both of them well, but the webpages do seem to load a bit slower on the Linksys.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    #7
    Any other MBA owners want to chime in?
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #8
    No issues here. I have a Linksys E3000 router at home w/ DD-WRT (using WPA2). I've also connected at Starbucks with no issues at all.
     
  9. macrumors 603

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #9
    No issues here on Cisco and Motorola Wifi Routers on my 2013 13" MBA.

    It looks like fi you do have a problem though, Apple will exchange your macBook Air.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #10
    Have had it for just about 2 weeks. No issues at all. Connecting to an apple airport extreme ac router.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    #11
    Only had mine for a couple days, but zero issues so far (Linksys WRT320N at home, running DD-WRT; also connected to a couple public hot spots).
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    #12
    Mine drops randomly from time to time. I either turn off/on the wifi and if that doesn't fix it, I have to restart. Arris router with a 11" macbook air i7/8/256
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #13
    No issues here on a DrayTek router, a Cisco router, a BT Homehub or a Sky SagemCom router, or my Lumia as a hotspot.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #14
    I'm wondering if Apple may have been given a batch of defective wireless cards since there doesn't seem to be a rhyme or reason why some people are having no problems while others are having nothing but.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #15
    One explanation was that some people are using routers with the wifi channel set to auto while some have fixed.
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #16
    I haven't had any WiFi issues with my MBA and a Cradlepoint router using a LTE connection card.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    God of Rapture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #17
    No problems for me on my base model 13".

    Normally connect to the new 802.11ac Time Capsule. But have connected to other devices without issue.
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    #18
    I'm having issues at work, connecting to an older Linksys router (and I have no control over that router). At home my connection (Dlink 655) seems to be fine.
     

Share This Page