How reliable is the Apple Hardware test CD?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by T-Stex, Feb 4, 2006.

  1. T-Stex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #1
    I'd been having some problems with my PowerBook, such as it freezing, and not starting up when I press the power button. I took it to an Apple Store, where the guys at the Genius Bar said it was the logic board. It hasn't been having that many problems lately, but just out of curiosity, I ran the Apple Hardware Test CD, which said there were no problems with the hardware.

    How thorough is this CD? Does this rule out the logic board as the source of the problem?
     
  2. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #2
    No, it's not that reliable. Flash the PRAM and remove any 3rd party RAM and there is a good chance it will solve your problems.
     
  3. T-Stex thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #3
    I'd flashed the PRAM before, and the RAM is all from Apple when I ordered it. I really don't remember when I reset the PRAM, or when the last time the computer froze or refused to start, so for all I know it might have worked. I just wanted to give the CD a shot to try something else, just in case.
     
  4. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    Apple's hardware test sucks :rolleyes:

    When I got my Rev A dual Powermac G5 back in Jan 04, i began having problems. The machine would begin reporting 1 processor in system profile.

    I ran apple hardware test loads of times and it reported everthing was working perfectly...

    Eventually one processor had to be replaced....
     
  6. T-Stex thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #6
    No, I haven't tried that. Any easy instructions?
     

Share This Page