How to add a HDD to a PowerMac G5?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by hob, Aug 30, 2005.

  1. hob macrumors 68020

    hob

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Hi, I have a July 2005 dual 2.0GHz G5, and I was looking at buying another hard disk, I already have one Lacie d2, but then I realised I still have an empty internal drive bay, "bay b".

    Looking on apples website, they only recommend buying hard disks for them, as well as guide screws.

    These guide screws are not standard are they? They're apple only? Or is this the way S-ATA hard disks are now?

    So, am I ok to buy any old SATA hard disk, for example here, or should i get only an apple certified one? Do I need to buy guide screws from apple? How do I do this?

    Cheers,

    Hob
     
  2. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #2
    this makes it look pretty straightforward and doesn't seem to suggest you need apple-brand screws.
     
  3. hob thread starter macrumors 68020

    hob

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    I read that already - what I thought was that it was a little misleading, and would be assuming you're using only an apple drive - which comes with special screws (I assume)
     
  4. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #4
    The screws are included with the machine. Look to the left of drive B.

    Get a Seagate from OWC - nice n' quiet.
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    Every G5 I have seen so far has a set of 4 mounting screws with their hemispherical rubberized mounts, parked in screwholes in the chassis off to the side of the drive bay. All I have ever needed to do is to get a bare SATA drive and put these screws into the mounting screwholes & slide the puppy in. You can choose any 3.5" SATA drive, I like the Seagate Barracudas and the Maxtor DiamondMax 10's. Make sure you buy from a seller who is offering the full 5 or 3 year manufacturers warranty. You don't want an OEM or "pull" drive with zero or one year warranty.
     
  6. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #6
    What I said, and what he said. :)

    Just look to the left of the "b" bay.
     
  7. simie macrumors 6502a

    simie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Location:
    Sitting
    #7
    The guide screws are located on the left hand side of the bay in a row, see figure 7 of http://www.info.apple.com/usen/cip/pdf/g5/073-0806.pdf.

    Get yourself a Sata hard drive, something like a Maxtor or a Seagate (Seagate drives come a great warranty) click here

    You have no jumpers to set on a Sata drive.
     
  8. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    i'd go for smasung or seagate, maxtors are faster but just not reliable.
     
  9. hob thread starter macrumors 68020

    hob

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
  10. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #10
    For a busy guy, iGary, you sure type fast...
     
  11. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #11
    The two SATA cables are tucked under the housing. Just plug in after inserting drive.

    Easy as pie.
     
  12. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #12
    It's amazing what I can get done when a batch is running. :p
     
  13. uaaerospace macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Alabama
    #13
    I just installed a Seagate 250 in my dual 2.0 G5. It took about 25 seconds, and required no additional parts/cables. Everything needed is included right inside the case (as you guys have already said). I'd wish you good luck with the installation, but I don't think you'll need it :rolleyes: ~Josh
     
  14. Hoef macrumors 6502a

    Hoef

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, TX..... (keep walking)
    #14
    Are you gonna transfer your user files to the new drive or install software on it? ... Just curious
     
  15. uaaerospace macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Alabama
    #15
    I purchased and installed Tiger on the new drive. I'm going to transfer from the other disk or just reinstall my apps and use the old 160 GB seagate for a scratch disk for FCP, Photoshop, iTunes, and iPhoto.

    lol...I've not had much time to work on it though, so right now I just have Tiger installed on the 250 and all of the apps are still on the old drive. In fact, I can even boot into 10.3.9 (which I've had to do a few times because my serial numbers to my software are at home [I'm at college]). I tried dragging my app support folder to the new boot drive, but it didn't carry over the registration for all of the programs, so I've got to get the boxes and stuff. Oh well, no big deal.
     
  16. Hoef macrumors 6502a

    Hoef

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, TX..... (keep walking)
    #16
    Yeah I am thinking of the same ... not looking forward moving iphoto's, mail, addresses, arghh...
     

Share This Page