How to add an Eject Button to your menubar

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, May 21, 2008.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    #1
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #2
    This is useful.

    I saw how to do this in David's Pogue's missing manual for leopard. It was actually a good how to tech book compared to others. O'Reilly's also makes some fantastic books on mac os x too. :)
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    Laguna Nigetto, CA
    #3
    You can also rearrange your menu bar by holding the Apple Button and dragging it the way you like, FYI

    You Stay Classy Mac-O-Holics
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    galstaph

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    The Great White North Eh
    #4
    pretty sweet, didn't know that was there!
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Silencio

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Very timely tip, given the thread on here from a couple of days ago about how Macs are "poorly designed" because three seasoned "IT pros" couldn't figure out how to open the optical drive on a Mac Pro. :D
     
  6. macrumors member

    heads up

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    lets keep this ball rolling. are there any other buttons you can add to the menu bar that most people don't know about?
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #7
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Victor ch

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    San José, Costa Rica
    #8
    HOLY SH... Thanks man!! I had no idea about this... pretty useful lol.

    Victor
     
  9. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #9
    this only applies to the ones by apple/os x, and not 3rd party menubar icons

    command + click the icon and drag it off. this works for all the apple ones as well.
     
  10. macrumors 601

    jecapaga

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #10
    pretty cool, pretty cool. nice!
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    ZiggyPastorius

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Berklee College of Music
    #11
    Nope. My iStat toolbar items move as well.
     
  12. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #12
    hmmm well my Last.fm, adium, quicksilver and just about all others i've put up there do not move, so maybe iStat is the exception to the rule?
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    ZiggyPastorius

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Berklee College of Music
    #13
    Probably :p Sorry, I wasn't trying to say anything, just pointing out that iStat does indeed work.
     
  14. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #14
    oh no, its quite alright, makes me frustrated that i can't reorder the other ones now. ;):p
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #15
    You can also rearrange your menu bar by holding the Apple Button and dragging it the way you like,
     

Share This Page