How to adjust ringtone volume

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jshelton, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #1
    A while back, everyone was looking for the ringtone that was used at the end of the iPhone commercials (just a basic ringing phone tone). I searched and found a file that someone had posted. I transferred it to iTunes as a .mp4file, and then to my iPhone.

    I love the ringtone; the ones preinstalled on the iPhone are terrible.

    Here is my problem: I want to keep my ringer volume all the way up, but the ringtone file that I downloaded is EXTREMELY loud. I have to keep it less than 1/4 volume. But I use my alarm a lot, and I need it all the way up because it is a different ringtone. How do I adjust the volume of the .mp4 ringtone to make it the same level as the rest of them on the iPhone?
     
  2. Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    #2
    Do you own a mac?

    Is so open the file in Garage Band and then reduce the master volume before saving it again.
     
    Newtons Apple likes this.
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #3
    I do. So it's that easy? :eek:
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #4
    Is there a solution for those of us that don't own a Mac? :D
     
  5. Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    #5
    It should be possible.

    I create ringtones for my iPhone using GarageBand all the time, and have turned the file 'volume' down numerous times.

    Edit*

    Buy a mac??? :p
     
  6. macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #6

    Sure is. Buy a mac. :D
     
  7. Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    #7
    ^ Getting slow in your old age rdowns :D
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Blueline29

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Windermere, FL
    #8
    I don't know if this'd work, but could you take the ringtone file (.m4r) and copy it to your desktop or wherever; then open Properties and change the file extension to .m4a. Reimport to iTunes as a regular music file, adjust the volume, then copy back to desktop, change the extension back to .m4r and reimport to iTunes as a ringtone? I can't test it at the moment because I'm on my work computer and this way is probably a way bigger PITA than necessary, but it might work for PC users.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #9
    This unfortunatly doesn't work. When I open garageband all the ringtones are greyed out and I cannot select them to edit. I changed it on the .m4a version in itunes but that only works on the songs, when I convert it to a ringtone it goes back up to full volume and is WAY to loud, any ideas on how to make this work?
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    MacToddB

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #10
    Open it in Audacity (free, Mac or PC) or Amadeus Pro (paid, Mac) and edit the volume and save. Audacity will save as .m4a / AAC. Just rename the extension to .m4r. Amadeus will export directly as a ringtone. Enjoy!
     
  11. mluman83, Oct 14, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #11
    I am bumping this thread. I have done the above process and the volume is still the same. I cant find how to lower the actual audio file's output volume!

    Wait nevermind, I figured it out. You can adjust it by lowering or raising "gain".
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #12
    then you are doing it wrong because I have also done the above process with much success drop the volume down to 25% or less that should make a difference.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    #13
    wait,,, wat do u mean by lowering or raising "gain". How do i do it?
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    SOCAL
    #14
    necrothread!
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #15
    PC software for this is a lot. See Gold wave, and ultra expensive audition.
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #16
    You can try sound studio. This is a paid software but should be able to handle this issue.
    If you are lucky enough, you may borrow a PC with Adobe audition installed, which is way enough to deal with such issues.
     

Share This Page