How to boot OS 9 on my Powerbook G4 1.33GHz?

Discussion in 'OS X' started by ppc_michael, Jul 6, 2007.

  1. Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    I read that my 17" Powerbook G4 1.33 GHz will not boot Mac OS 9. But I want it to! So I tried anyway. ;) I don't use it anymore, so why the heck not.

    I used the recovery CD from my old iBook G4 to get the os9general.img file, which contains a bootable OS 9 system folder. (I also have a Mac OS 9.2 disc I bought, so this is all legal I promise). I copied it over to the root directory of my hard drive and used terminal to bless it, using --setBoot to set it as the default system (because it does not show up in the Startup Disk control panel).

    Restarting normally gives the "no file system" icon (folder icon alternating between a Finder face and question mark). But restarting while holding the Option key brings up this screen:

    [​IMG]
    (click for the full picture)​

    The trackpad doesn't work right on this screen, but I managed to get the cursor over to that straight arrow button and click it. That crashes to an open firmware screen saying "Illegal ref."

    So! Have there been any successful attempts to boot OS 9 on the "newer" PPC computers? I don't understand why it wouldn't be possible.

    (and mods, if this isn't in the right subforum, please put it in the right one :))
     
  2. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    You cannot boot a FireWire 800/USB 2.0 Mac under MacOS 9. However, the first Macs featuring the faster ports could be booted with the aid of a hack. What you are doing won't work. Do a Google search for the required hack.
     
  3. macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #3
    It won't work because OS 9 was not designed for that hardware so it is missing drivers and probably somthing else that I can't think of right now. if you really want to boot Mac OS 9 then old G3 or slightly earlier macs can be gotten for very cheap or free.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Location:
    Western NY
    #4
    Actually, the above is a great tip. My Powerbook G4 can't go into OS 9 natively, and I don't even have Classic installed, but having a low-end Mac handy is a good idea. That's why I keep my 1999 iMac G3 handy for OS 9 stuff.

    Around 2002, or 2003, Apple announced it would no longer have OS 9 preinstalled on its machines and the option to dual-boot was eliminated. If you wanted to run your old OS 9 apps, you hoped it would work in the Classic environment. Every G4, and iBook G3, was no longer able to dual boot to OS 9 natively. Then Apple EOL'd OS 9.2. Which was a good decision, many top apps were running on OS X at that time, so there was no reason to continue to have computers dual boot between X and 9.

    That's what Apple is hoping with OS X and Windows. You'll get sick of restarting, and when your app is available for your Mac, then ditch Windows. Just as many people have ditched OS 9.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    oohh yea always need OS9 it comes in handy so many times. i always find myself using appleworks for the simplest things. the programs jjust work..
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
  7. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    AppleWorks is a Carbon app. It runs natively in MacOS X.
     
  8. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    i know that silly. how retarted do you think i am!!!
     
  9. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    Retarded. Otherwise you're talking about a small pastry again. ;)

    Since you talked about needing to use OS9 and Appleworks in the same breath, it was natural to assume that you were linking the two.

    But to answer the question, we really don't know what your knowledge level is. Really. All we have to go on is what you put in your posts, and yours in this thread left considerable room for speculation.
     
  10. thread starter Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    It's not really because I have apps I need to use on OS 9 or anything, it's just to see if it's possible. I kinda miss OS 9, I'd like to have it back, and I don't really see why I shouldn't be able to run it on my Powerbook.

    But, oh well.
     
  11. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    to tell u the truth ive never done an IQ test. nor do i want to. i know that appleworks is a ppc program, as i run it practically every day. i dont like to boast about my knowledge, but it is fairly broad in a lot of computer areas. broad but not perfect.

    os9 ftw!
     

Share This Page