How to buy my 1st car....(dun dun DUN!!)

Discussion in 'Community' started by Abstract, Jan 26, 2005.

1. Abstract macrumors Penryn

Abstract

Okay, here's the low-down: I'm moving (back) to Australia after having lived there for 1 year, and now that I know I'll live there for at least another 3 years, I'll need a car when doing my PhD. This is my 1st car, so I've never dealt with car salesmen. My parents won't be around to help me, since I'll be in Oz while they're in Canada. :(

The car I want to get is called a Hyundai Getz or possibly a Toyota Echo 2D hatchback (auto). The Getz costs $15853 AUD, or around $12500 USD. The Echo will cost around $16600 (not sure exactly with the Auto). Both cars are supposed to be good.

Questions:

1. Should I negotiate the price? If so, how much do you think I can negotiate? The price of the 2-door, 1.5L Getz (auto.....I'm a lazy North American driver) is $15853. Since its a cheap car, they're probably not making a lot of money/overhead on the car, so my negotiating room isn't much, right? I'm thinking of trying to get the Getz for $15000, but I'm not sure if that's too much of a markdown to ask for, or too little. :eek:

2. Should I lease the car for 3 years instead? I don't really know the benefits. If I sell the car in 3 years, I figure I'll sell it for 50% of its original value (ie: I'll sell it for around $8000, a net loss of around $8000), but my stepdad thinks it's better to just lease the car and give it back to them after 3 years. I think leasing may be more expensive, but since I'm not in Oz, I can't find out an exact lease price. But if it's $300 per month, I'll end up spending a total of $11000 after 3 years rather than $8000.