How to calibrate the screen?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mifka, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    mifka

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Moldova
    #1
    How to calibrate the 24" iMac?
    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2
    System Prefs->Displays->Color->Calibrate
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Go to System preferences / Display / Colour / calibrate (I think)
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    #4
    I have a question about this. When doing the expert mode, you have to work with the 2 sliders, one left and one right.

    I understand the left one instructions, make the image brightness appear the same as the background. But the right slider says to move it to make the image neutral compared to the background.

    What does "make it neutral" mean?
     
  5. macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #5
    just leave Expert mode off and choose 2.2 gamma and a D65 white point. look here and here for more info.
     
  6. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #6
    If you want it right, buy a colorimeter. Do you have a matte iMac or glossy? Unless something's changed in the last few months, only the Spyder2 will give you reliable calibration on a glossy.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    nout72

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    The right slider alters the hue, so just try making the apple logo look nearly identical to the background.
    When calibrating the screen sit at the same distance form the screen as you would usually do. Don't get too close.

    I would not recommend this.
    You'll get much better results in the expert mode.
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    Get the Spyder 2 Pro, I find it works well with any screen, glossy or matte .. :)
     
  9. macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #9
    i dont know what to do with the slider on the right in advanced mode? when i finish it looks blue. if i leave expert mode untouched it looks right.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    #10
    I did this and got good results.

    So basically the left and right slider do the same thing? The left adjusts the brightness, but when I get the image brightness close the right slider seems to not need touching because the image is almost gone.

    As far as buying anything to do this, no thanks.
     
  11. tsd
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #11
    Also remember to make sure the display's been on for at least 30 minutes before you start.
     
  12. deftdrummer, Feb 28, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #12
    shouldn't this only matter on plasma displays? Also, I completed the in advanced mode and everything looks slightly "bluer" and more "purplish." What gives with OS X changing your wallpaper when completed though?
     

Share This Page