How To: Change a 2GB data plan to unlimited!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by monaarts, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #1
    If your like me, 2GB of data won't do each month but AT&T doesn't give you any other options. What if I told you there is a way to get unlimited data, whether you have a new account or an old account? Well there is and it's simple! This works and is great....

    Here is what you need (See Picture Below):
    - iPhone 4
    - iPhone 2g
    - micro SIM card from iPhone 4
    - tape (I used electrical tape)

    1. Take the micro SIM card out of your iPhone 4.
    2. Take the SIM card out of your iPhone 2g.
    3. Tape the micro SIM card into the iPhone 2g SIM tray, leaving 1/8" between the bottom and the left of the sim tray. Make sure you do not cover up any metal with the tape. And make sure the micro SIM card is facing the same direction the regular SIM card would be facing. (See Picture Below)
    4. Place the SIM tray into the iPhone 2g. Activate it, as it will ask you to do.
    5. When activating select the Unlimited option (for $20).
    6. When activated, take the sim card out of the iPhone 2g and place it back into the iPhone 4.
    7. ENJOY UNLIMITED DATA!



    - Joe
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #3
    Can I do the same with an iphone 2g and an iphone 3g?
    I sign up for a new account ( i don't have an account yet) with my iphone 2g and then switch the sim into my 3g. will that work?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #4
    Kind of - but it isnt a How to. Only people who happen to read that entire thread will understand what to do. I was trying to make it easier, trying to help people who were forced to take the 2GB data plan like I was. :)


    - Joe
     
  5. macrumors regular

    bibbz

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #5
    Is this legit?

    And also, will it stay $20, or jump up to 30? I dont mind, just curious.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #6

    Yes. You do the same thing except with a regular sim card. :)

    - Joe
     
  7. macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    It will stay $20. You basically get grandfathered in.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #8

    Once it recognizes that the new phone has 3G capabilities you will get a text from AT&T saying that they upgraded your account to unlimited data for the 3G for $30/month.


    - Joe
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #9
    I think AT&T will check ur IMEI soon and keep tryna force you to upgrade to the 30 plan or even back to 25 2gb .... That's what they did when I tried to get the 20 edge plan on the 3G and when I tried on the 3GS they wouldn't let me use mms until I upgraded
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #10
    No it will change to the $30 plan.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #11

    They can't force you to the 2GB monthly cap. They are allowing unlimited data on 2g iPhones and are allowing people to keep it if they have it. They can force you to pay for the 3G service though, which is where the $30 a month comes from instead of the $20.


    - Joe
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #12
    When i sign up for service should I sign up with my 3g iphone or 2g? or it doesn't matter.
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #13
    Sim card needs to be in your 2g.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #14
    You have to sign up with the 2g phone first - thats where the loophole is. I thought I made this pretty clear in my original post(?).


    - Joe
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #15
    This quote is true.

    However, even though they won't let you keep the $20 plan, I bet this trick will work for getting an unlimited account on a new plan, although it'd cost $30 after they switch you.
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #16
    good job making it an official "how to." I didn't think the 7 pages in the other thread was enough for the real dense people.
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #17
    oh and you forgot in the last step to take the tape off. Some might forget to do that.
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #18
    And questions will still be asked.
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    #19
    Cool. I would totally do this if I wasn't already grandfathered in with my unlimited plan.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #20
    Yea... unfortunately for me I opened my AT&T account on June 25th, so I had to do this to get unlimited data. Works great though! LOL


    - Joe
     
  21. macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #21
    Most of us don't fall into the 2% of people who use more than 2GB of data. You know, 98% is much bigger than 2%.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #22
    And your point is what exactly?


    - Joe
     
  23. macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #23
    We've been talking about this in other threads for a few weeks now.
     
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #24
    What is going ot happen when ATT figures this out. Id love to do this, I havent had an Iphone before but I sure would like to do this.

    Would this work with a 3g phone? I can get a 3g from my friend.
     
  25. macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #25
    You can only do this if you have an original iPhone.
     

Share This Page