how to change browser default

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by nosser, Apr 4, 2005.

  1. nosser macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Location:
    orange
    #1
    I am now using camino as my broswer and i was wondering how I change my default broswer to camino. When I click on links safari will open the link. hI searched the forum and my system preferences but couldnt find it. any help would be great thanks.
     
  2. h0e0h macrumors 6502a

    h0e0h

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    West Monroe, Louisiana
    #2
    Safari --> Preferences --> "General" tab --> Default Web Browser (drop down menu)
     
  3. nosser thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Location:
    orange
    #3

    thanks I know it had to be something really easy.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Has anyone noticed that, having done this, there are certain apps here and there that use browser-based help or something like that, and fail to launch the default browser? There is something I have on my system which launches Safari instead of FF, and IIRC at one time I even had software that dug out MSIE and launched it! :eek: At any rate, in the majority of cases, FF is correctly used, but there are exceptions. Anyone have this issue, and is there a fix?
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    I've occasionally had apps open IE. The solution, of course, was to put IE in the Trash :D
     
  6. AstroManLuca macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #6
    You can change file associations.

    Click on the file, select "Get Info" from the File menu (or contextual menu, or press command-I), and select the desired application from the "Open With" section. You can also change it so ALL files of a certain type open with the specified application.
     
  7. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #7
    heh..

    I ran into a situation were I needed IE to complete an online form. I then put my mac to sleep, and opened my old toshiba laptop, completed the form, and brought my mac back online.
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    So are you saying that, while my default HTM/HTML browser is FF, and any file that gets onto my Mac without a special association to IE or Safari will load in FF (since right now, if I double click most HTM files, they go to FF and not Safari or IE), I still may have files that a program installed, which are associated specifically to IE or Safari?

    Can you please tell me more about associating ALL files? Do I just find an HTM or HTML file and choose open with, and then FF, and click the always open with box? Will doing that override these files which are specifically associated to Safari?

    As much as I'd like to trash MSIE, I still might need it once in a great while. And I really don't want to trash Safari. :(
     
  9. arogge macrumors 65816

    arogge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Location:
    Tatooine
    #9
    My PhotoShop opens MSIE from the Help menu, but if I put it in the Trash:

    "Could not launch the web browser application because an unknown error occurred. Error #-10660" :( :D
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    Hmmm...my PS opens online support in FF, and its help browser in its own application....
     

Share This Page