How to change MAC address

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by tbluhp, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #1
    How do you do that simple and quick?

    My iPod currently has no internet cause of it.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #2
    how do you know its because you have no mac address?

    also how do you know u have no mac address?
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere between 10 and 11
    #3
    im almost certain this wont be because you have no mac address. I would also like to second the above comment: how do you know you have no mac address. There is a wifi address found in Settings>>General>>About but no mac address. The most likely cause is an IP conflict with your router. Your best bet will be to set a static IP address on your router and then manually inputting the information in the static settings under your network settings on your ipod
    Hope it helps :rolleyes:
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #4
    It is not possible to change a MAC address on any internet enabled device. It is hard coded into the chip that provides the connectivity. This is to ensure having a completely unique identifier. TCP/IP would not work without this simple rule (there are lots of other simple rules, this just happens to be one of them).

    Now.. if to what you are referring is a lack of IP address that's something completely different.

    Peace

    P.s. the WiFi address is the mac address. I know this because it's what I have to put in my router for strict mac address allow.
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #5
    Go ahead and believe this if you want.

    FYI, if you know what you are doing, it is easy to spoof a MAC address on many devices.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #6
    Yes, you can't change MAC of the device ;> but still software sends that MAC, and if system/application can edit with lowest-level of packets it can change MAC in progress, and other device according to TCP/IP - Ethernet specification will think it's a true MAC of the device. Simply specification don't expect that MAC can be fake, it's a security hole in specification.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #7
    Install Cydia. (google it, its an alternative to installer.app which uses apt-get like on linux)
    There's a package in the Cydia repositories called StealthMac, this allows you to set a different mac address at boot.
    I'm afraid i can't check this for you since i'm running 2.0fw on my iPot at the moment, but if you google the package name you should find instructions i'd say...
     

Share This Page