How to choose a BT port?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by fortunecolor, Dec 28, 2005.

  1. fortunecolor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #1
    I believe my ISP monitor some ports here, my BT download is very slow actually, no more than 3k/s. I really want to know is there any way to find out a useful port? or is there any way to speed up my BT?

    I use transmission now, and did try BOW and tomato before, no one is speedy. I'm not a greedy guy, all I want is 20k/s......Gosh

    When I use bitcomet to DL, sometimes it reaches 200k/s and average 50k/s.

    Thanks fro any input.
     
  2. IanF0729 macrumors regular

    IanF0729

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland; Washington, D.C.
    #2
    Are you using a router perchance?

    If you are, you may have to open some ports.

    I had to set up a static IP address and port forwarding on my router with Azureus to get any decent download speeds.

    Even if you don't use Azurues, you'll find a lot of useful configuration information regardless, including a bit about which ISP block which ports (because some do apparently) here.
     
  3. fortunecolor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #3
    Yes, I'm using airport express, so how to open the ports?
    Thanks for your advice.
     
  4. IanF0729 macrumors regular

    IanF0729

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland; Washington, D.C.
    #4
    The only thing I could think of would be to try and configure your ports via the AirPort Admin Utility for base station setup and network administration in your Utilities folder.

    Since I have never used an AirPort Base Station as a router this is a semi-educated guess.
     
  5. fortunecolor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #5
    My ISP SHAW CABLE CANADA is actually on the blacklist "do anything to block BITTORRENT"

    Is there anything can do except dump this ISP?
     
  6. IanF0729 macrumors regular

    IanF0729

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland; Washington, D.C.
    #6
    Unless they've missed some BitTorrent ports that are useable, I'd say dump 'em.

    Sorry :(
     
  7. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #7
    They've gone from blocking the popular BT ports to now sniffing for BT packets and clamping down on BT traffic.

    Some clients can encrypt the data going through their blockers. I'd check into those before switching ISPs.

    Here's to the Crazy Ones [​IMG]
     
  8. fortunecolor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #8
    which clients? like bitcomet on pc? any on Mac plz?
     
  9. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #9
  10. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #10
    Me as well - Azureus on my Mac via sasktel.net DSL has always worked like a charm for me. :cool:
     

Share This Page