How To Circumnavigate My Schools Blocks?? (SOLVED)

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by rmbrown09, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #1
    So long story short

    1.) I live on campus at a University

    2.) The University will shut down your ethernet restricting you to wifi (1mb/s compared to the 80mb/s ethernet) if you use it too much

    3.) To use ethernet you must register your computers MAC address, like anything else say a 360 that uses the wire

    4.) I always get shut down because I Skype and play games online



    How can I change my MAC address // navigate around the schools blocks? My roommates computer still works fine on ethernet and the only way I can think that they identify me is MAC address. What can I do?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    Basically, you can't, at least not without doing something that will get you permanently kicked off of your school's internet.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #3
    I tried a basic guide on changing my MAC, and it seemed to work but when I restarted the MAC changed back to what is was before and the ethernet wouldn't work before or after the restart. I'm up for anything here, I am going to have to deal with this for 9 months otherwise.
     
  4. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Two things:
    1. It's not circumnavigate, it is circumvent.
    2. You can't.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #5
    1.) Good thing I'm not an English major
    2.) ****
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #6
    The 128KB/s (1mbit) WiFi isn't enough for online gaming?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #7
    causes major lag, especially since the speed can drop suddenly at peak hours or just slow to a sluggish pace. Plus downloading things, for example trying to download SC2 earlier, which is 7GB, will take forever on wifi.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    basher

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ USA
    #8
    At my college if you break the technology terms of use agreement you lose access to the technology. Be careful what you do. You college may have a similar stance.

    My advice is Skype and game less and study more.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #9
    Well I figured it out. In case anyone else is in a similar situation;

    Step 1.) Check your current MAC, not necessary but you can see what it is.

    Terminal --> ifconfig en0 | grep ether


    Step 2.) In my case I went to the site where the MAC is registered and create a new entry for what will be my spoof. 00:11:22:33:44:55

    Step 3.) Unplug from ethernet, change the address with

    sudo ifconfig en0 ether 00:11:22:33:44:55

    and then replug.

    Step 4.) Download the whole internet and swap your mac every time you get shutoff. Our schools seems to be 2GB within 24 hours = shutdown.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    WOW! That'll take a while. Hope you have a big enough data centre. :)
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #11
    Is that 2GB download, or 2GB upload?

    2GB/day download limit is a bit severe, but not completely out of the ordinary. It is LOT of video at YouTube's lower settings.
    Recommendation: Reduce your p0rn consumption.

    I can understand a 2GB/day upload limit. Skype / gaming should not exceed this, and you are not supposed to be running a server for free on the university's dime.
    Recommendation: Find hosting services and pay for them.

    Spidey!!!
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Salukipilot4590

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    Well speaking of big downloads I downloaded the whole internet last thursday...


    Didn't take too long.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    DW58

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #13
    Awaits the "I got kicked out of college for abusing network privileges" thread :p

    Downloading the whole internet is quite an achievement :confused:

    :rolleyes:
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #14
    2GB download... (switches Mac for the 3rd time today)
     
  15. macrumors regular

    DW58

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #15
    Hell's teeth - maybe you are downloading the entire internet :eek:

    Just what are you doing that you require 6Gb+ downloads per diem - that's a lot of porn for a college kid :p
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #16
    Ever download AutoCAD? Thats like 2.5GB right there.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #17
    Seriously, dude, you ARE going to get caught, and you ARE going to have a LOT of explaining to do.

    Just because you are switching MAC addresses doesn't mean that network ops will not be able to trace the excess usage to the physical port on the switch to which you are connecting, and use that to identify you.

    Keep in mind that universities are very sensitive to excess bandwidth utilization by students right now. This is not just because of the cost of providing the necessary bandwidth, but also because of liability: Several schools have been sued for copyright violations because of students who were downloading pirated files...

    So, cool it cowboy...

    Spidey!!!
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #18
    Yeah but don't you know most kids just entering school today already know everything and because of that know they are smarter than the schools tech department? :) Until they get caught, then they blame everyone else because nothing is their fault either.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #19
    Reason im hammering it today is because I am downloading starcraft II (legally) from their site. The game is 7GB.

    My traffic is minimal most of the time.
     
  20. macrumors regular

    DW58

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #20
    Post #1 & post #19 rather contradict each other - better come up with a better story for when the college networking police suspend your ass for abusing your bandwidth allowance.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #21
    #19 describes why it is getting shutdown today, my first post describes the majority of the time. I don't know why you think you've caught me in some contradiction here Sherlock.

    so close
    [​IMG]
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    MA
    #22
    Be careful, because spidey's post was spot on. If it comes down to it, they will likely be able to track your physical location down.

    In all honestly, I blame the school for having 1) a terrible network and/or 2) extremely restrictive policies. I'm very familiar with my school's network and policies and we have an extremely fast network and no restrictions on bandwidth. You can lose access privileges if you're caught pirating, but you'd have to be pretty stupid to get caught.
     
  23. macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #23
    Well, so glad you've gotten out of mum's house and living at university. Gaming online, beating/cheating the system (temporary, I assure);) and downloading the whole internet, she'll be so proud when you explain why you couldn't stay! :confused:
     
  24. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #24
    I am a sophomore this year, I know how it goes. Nothing will happen.
     
  25. macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #25
    I am surprised they just limit it by MAC address. At my college, you could only get on the internet if you registered your device's MAC address with IT, I think you had 15 slots and they all counted against your usage quota. Luckily transfers within the network didn't count against you! If a few people already downloaded a big game like Star Craft, I could just grab it from them to save my quota.
     

Share This Page