How to clean an old recording.

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by nazmac21, Feb 28, 2007.

1. nazmac21 macrumors 6502a

nazmac21

I have a song that was published in 1902. It has a lot of old hissing noise and sounds like it's coming from a radio. Any tips on how to modernize this song?
    I want to make it sound like it was made today.

2. FF_productions macrumors 68030

FF_productions

Soundtrack Pro would be pretty good for this. I'm not that good with audio but I know Soundtrack Pro can analyze the audio and clean it up.

3. nazmac21 thread starter macrumors 6502a

nazmac21

Any other solutions, like in GarageBand? I really like this song but it shows its age.

4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

CanadaRAM

Sigh, another fantasy. :(

You are never going to get it to sound like it was recorded recently. The recording, besides having hiss and scratches and pops, simply does not have the dynamic range or the frequency bandwidth.

You can't put back in what is not in the original in the first place.

You can, using some software like Bias Peak, or SoundSoap, or various shareware utilities (check versiontracker.com) reduce some of the popping and artifacts, and partially remove some broadband background noise (hiss) and use some EQ and expansion to artificially boost the sound up.

But it's like saying: "I took a photo of a house, in the winter, with gray skies and snow falling. I want a program that will make that photo look like a summer day, with blue skies, grass and leaves on the trees" You can't restore what is not present in the original information !!

5. nazmac21 thread starter macrumors 6502a

nazmac21

Can't you mess with some EQ in GarageBand to make it sound a little bit better?

6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

CanadaRAM

Yeah, or make is sound worse, could go either way.