How to clock the gpu

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by amoda, Nov 1, 2006.

  1. amoda macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    #1
    Hey,

    I'm wondering if there is someway to change the speed of the gpu. I've heard that the new c2d mbps have the gpu clocked higher than the original mbps.
    So i'm assuming that since the new ones can run them faster so can the older ones since they're both basically the same right?

    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. BII macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    #2
    I'm wondering the same thing too, or if the refurbished models (what I ordered) are not underclocked.
     
  3. 5150 Joker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Location:
    Davis, California
    #3
    Not neccessarily true. For example, if ATi die shrunk the X1600s in the C2D MBP's then that means they would be using less power and producing less heat thus they could be clocked higher. Another explanation could be because of the improved thermal management of the new C2D MBPs vs. the old ones. I can get 500/500 out of the X1600 in my C2D MBP and I know nobody ever got close to that with the old MBP.
     
  4. iBorg20181 macrumors 6502

    iBorg20181

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #4
    overclocked?

    Did you overclock your X1600? If so, can it be done in OS X, or did you need to use BootCamp to boot into Windows to overclock? Also, do you have any comparative benchmarks with X1600s in PCs?

    TIA :)

    iBorg
     
  5. 5150 Joker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Location:
    Davis, California
    #5

    I used bootcamp to overclock my X1600, I don't know if it can be done in OSX since I'm a Mac newbie. You can google for X1600 mobility benchmarks on PCs. If you want, I can try later to download the bios from the X1600 and if you're really brazen, you can try flashing yours with the updated X1600 bios so you get higher clocks in OSX as well.
     
  6. Machead III macrumors 6502

    Machead III

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Location:
    UK, France
    #6
    It currently can't be done on OS X. In Bootcamp, you can download ATItool and overlclock the GPU really quite high, seeing very large improvements in performance, particularly in games I thought.
     
  7. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #7
    I wish I could underclock it more...
    I don't really need the video power most of the time... It would be nice to save some power battery and heat while on the road.
     

Share This Page