How to connect an iPod to a pre-firewire imac?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Jaykay, Mar 9, 2003.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Jaykay

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    I know this has been said before (but that was a while ago - like so ) but i was wondering if there is any possible way to do this, help would be so appreciated its almost unbelievable........
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jaykay

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Dont tempt me......
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #4
    have u considered osmossis? Other than that or the superglue sounds like its impossible unless you use telpathy wait no doesn't seem possible your only option will be to hook up that imac to a newr mac and syncing the ipod to a newer mac although i don't know your current setup.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jaykay

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    Well, its not actually for me, i have no problem with my ipod its great, its a friend of mine who bought a 2nd hand ipod and assumed he had a firewire connection on his imac - which he subsequently found out that he didnt.

    No other macs are available to him..
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    tjwett

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
    #6
    there may be one way, there are external hard drives that have both USB and Firewire ports on them. if you transfer the iTunes library to the disk via USB you may be able to tranfer the files to the Pod via Firwire. that's the only way i could think of.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    IndyGopher

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
  8. macrumors 68030

    cr2sh

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Location:
    downtown
    #8
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Yeah, I was just thinking of the same thing.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jaykay

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    Damn, i was looking for maybe a little converter or something, oh well, i dont see him spending that kind of money on it (although it does have a processor upgrade but i dont really think he wants that).

    Well, thanks for the help (ahhh i love ye guys :D ) , ill see what he says.
     
  11. macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #11
    If you have a pre-firewire mac i think you should be buying a new comp before you buy an ipod lol
     

Share This Page