How to connect Apple TV (3rd gen) to television

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by virginblue4, Dec 16, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68000

    virginblue4

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    This is my TV, as you can see I don't have a HDMI slot free. Can I still connect it?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 6502a

    jeremiah239

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    239 Area, FL
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    virginblue4

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    I'm located in the UK. Can I just buy a HDMI splitter?
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Maybe, you want an HDMI splitter that has 2 inputs and one output. Most are the opposite. You do not want to buy something with 2 outputs and one input. That will not work for you.

    Edit: As jeremiah stated you want to look for a "HDMI Switch" rather than a "splitter" from what I have seen.
     
  5. macrumors member

    loaferkan

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #5
    Thanks for sharing the information !
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #6
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
  8. macrumors 68010

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #8
    Not according to the description.

    A simple effective device to allow a single HDMi signal to be directed out through 2 sockets where the signal is required to be sent to two devices or screens.

    · Does not combine signals, only splits them.

    · NB. THIS SPLITTER WILL NOT WORK IN REVERSE, ie YOU CANNOT CONNECT 2 MACHINES SUCH AS A PLAYSTATION AND A PC TO A SINGLE SCREEN
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    #9
    Kanex ATV Pro for VGA + audio output

    Looks like you have a VGA input on that TV -- similar to mine. As long as your TV supports 720p or 1080p, you can try the Kanex ATV Pro:
    http://www.kanexlive.com/atvpro
    [​IMG]

    I just picked this up yesterday and had my ATV3 up and running within minutes. I love it.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #10
    In the dropdown you need to select the right type of adapter.
     

Share This Page