How to connect to windows via LAN cable

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iWonder, Jan 3, 2007.

1. iWonder macrumors newbie

I have not much experience in networking . I had bought a 2 m LAN cable and connected my PC with win XP and my MacBook Pro . but now I don't know how to start. I read the guide http://guides.macrumors.com/Networking_Windows_with_Mac_OS_X but in the beginning it says ..

But I never see the workgroup or Computers . All the networking window show is two Icons "Library" which shows some not found error and "Servers" which has a link to my Mac.

Also, how do I know my Mac and PC's IP address ?

2. simontarr macrumors 6502

simontarr

I'm no expert but...

Well you need a cross-over network cable to connect the two together. You can check if you have a crossover cable by comparing the two cable heads- if the coloured wires don't match then it's crossover.

You will also need to select Windows File sharing under the 'Sharing' section in system preferences.

If the Windows machine you are connecting to has wireless, then turn that off. When I've tried this, the files seem to want to transfer via wireless. This could just be an issue with me though.

When I connected my iMac to my Windows laptop, I couldn't get an IP address. But panic not. I just clicked on My Network Places and 'Simons-imac' appeared. I double cicked on that, enetered my short username and password and I was in.

Hope my experiences can help solve your problem

EDIT - I've also found that it's just much easier to connect to the Mac from the windows machine. I have'nt been able to look at my Windows laptop from my Mac. I'm probably doing something wrong though.

3. iWonder thread starter macrumors newbie

My cable color do match , so I guess its NOT crossover . And I need a cross-over one, right ?

4. simontarr macrumors 6502

simontarr

Yeah, if you are connecting two computers together without something in between (ie switch) then it's needs to be crossover.