How to deactivate the search for new wireless networks?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by major7, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #1
    The title says it all.

    I usuallly only use 2 networks(home & work) so i was wondering if there was a way to deactivate the continuos search for new wirelees networks in order to save some battery?

    P.S.: Without obviously deactivating the Wireless itself :D
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #2
    there is a check box to disable asking you about selecting other networks in the network settings
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #3
    Just tried that but it still looks for other networks....i think that there is no solution but i bet that some energy would be saved if there was an option to stop it.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    #4
    turn off ur wifi
    or join on of the two networkd if available, and it stops searching
     
  5. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    It doesn't continuously search for new networks. It only does that when you click on the AirPort icon on the Menu Bar. The battery power it uses for that is so infinitesimal, you couldn't measure it.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    YMark

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona
    #6
    I'm not sure I agree with either of these statements. Not trying to be argumentative, but how do you know that the WiFi radio isn't continuously searching even though it is connected to a network?

    I also believe the battery power used for this is absolutely measurable.
     
  7. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Because when you first click the icon on the Menu Bar, it shows AirPort:On. Then, after a second or two, it switches to AirPort:Scanning... while it searches, then after the search is complete, it reverts back to AirPort:On. It will not search again until you click the icon again:
    ScreenCap 3.PNG ScreenCap 5.PNG ScreenCap 3.PNG
    So measure it.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #8
    But it logs into my network automatically so it has to scan for them....automatically! :D That's what logic says.....
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #9
    test 1: clicked on the icon and noticed it looks for networks in a 10 sec interval (but that doesnt mean it looks for networks when im not clicking it)

    test 2: opened activity monitor and checked for the airport process....then clicked the airport icon and neither cpu or memory usage increases so i think it is always looking for new networks...
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    YMark

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona
    #10
    The above proves nothing.

    I don't care enough to run measurements on it. I was just saying that I believe the wireless radio does use a measurable amount of battery.
     
  11. GGJstudios, Feb 10, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2011

    macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    Yes, it joins the network you have on your preferred network list. If it doesn't find one available on your preferred network list, it searches for available networks for you to join. Once you've joined a network, it has no need to keep searching, since you've already joined a network. It will not keep searching unless you manually initiate a search by clicking the icon.
    If you click and hold the icon, it scans one time and then doesn't scan again unless you release and re-click the icon, initiating another search.
    Why would you think that it's always searching if you have no evidence to suggest that?
    Actually, it does. If it was continually scanning for new networks, the AirPort status would continually show that, rather than only showing it briefly when you click the icon. You haven't provided any evidence to the contrary.
    There's no question that WiFi uses battery power. I said the battery power used during a search for a new network uses an infinitesimal amount of power, as it only lasts a few seconds.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #12
    sorry man but test 1 is valid :D

    if you pay attention after 10 sec it looks again for new networks....and 10 sec later it does the same...but its hardly noticed...keep your eyes on the screen and count to 10...im not lying :p

    Edit: any beta testers to make test 1 available? :D
     
  13. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    I held it for over 2 minutes, and it never searched again. It's possible that if your wireless signal is weak or has interference, it may cause it to frequently re-scan to reacquire your network.
     
  14. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    Paranoid much ;) I have a stone that protects you from Godzilla attacks - how does it work you ask? Well I don't know but I haven't been attacked by any giant lizards yet...........


    Seriously you are making a mountain out of a molehill and GGLStudios info is correct.




    Also apply some logic. If you only use wireless at home and work, once you are connected to those networks it will not be using any more power as it's always connected anyway so it is at max power consumption.

    If you are also adamant that you only use 2 wireless networks then why not switch wireless off when your out... It's so simple - or do you like tormenting yourself with quasi paranoia about your wireless searching?
     

Share This Page