How to Delete OSX Partition w/ Vista installed? Possible?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by sixth, Feb 2, 2007.

  1. sixth macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #1
    This might sound stupid, but I wanted to know if anyone was able to delete their OSX partition and run JUST Vista. Right now I am on boot camp with no issues and due to my work/job I am going to only run Vista. Can I just go into computer management and delete the other partition and than resize the Vista partition again for just Vista to be on the machine?

    Any idea?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Errr...

    What's the point in having Apple hardware if you're not going to run the OS? :confused:

    But yes, that should work, so long as you can resize the partition (you may need third-party software to do so).
     
  3. sixth thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #3
    Why? Becuase I like their hardware. Thats why, i have nothing against the OS. I have been using it for a long time, but as a network admin and an entire Windows Domain I need Windows plus testing the compatibilty of Vista with out current in house network programs.

    Dont see what the big deal is...its just an OS...and just a laptop..people put Linux on any kind of hardware?
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Well at least OS X can and will boot off an external drive so even if you do remove it from the internal completely you can still boot into it occasionally without the hassles of Windows.

    Couldn't you just take the Vista installer and let it do the partitioning as part of the install?

    B
     
  5. sixth thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #5
    Hmm..that is a very good point. I dont know if I can resize the partitions through the disc or not. thats something i will have to look into. i just dont want to loose what i have in my windows side...guess i will just have to take that risk.
     

Share This Page