How to delete partition hard drive?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Chiuy, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    NorCal, Bay Area
    #1
    I was hoping to install Windows 7 bootcamp onto my Macbook Pro 13" but unfortunately while I was trying to partition the hard drive, it frozen completely and I had to force shut down. I am trying to repartition again but it seems like the hard drive has already partition itself because more than 180GB of my memory is being use by "other". How do I delete the 180GB that I try to partition?
    I tried hard disk utility and nothing is appearing as the 2nd partition.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    BreakGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    NZ, South Pacific
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    NorCal, Bay Area
    #3
    That's the problem... nothing is appearing as the 2nd partition.
    The 180GB is being used as "other" which I can't locate for some reason.
    It's hidden somewhere.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Location:
    the corner of Fire and Brimstone
    #4
    Boot with System DVD and run Disk Utility and resize the current partition. Then create your second partition.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    BreakGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    NZ, South Pacific
    #5
    Could you post a screenshot of your Disk Utility for us?
     
  6. Chiuy, Dec 31, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2011

    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    NorCal, Bay Area
    #6
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    NorCal, Bay Area
    #7
    *bump*

    After Googling and searching the forum for answers...
    I have found out that I need to go to "Terminal" and type in "sudo tmutil disablelocal" in order to clear the memory. I have done that and enable my root user in the terminal... the terminal says it has completed the task but... the memory/storage is still saying that 42GB is still using by storage.

    Anyone? Help?
     
  8. macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #8

Share This Page