How to disable Dashboard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by spaceballl, May 1, 2005.

  1. spaceballl macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    I don't want this to turn into a discussion of how much RAM / CPU cycles it uses. I did a search for this, and I found that. Is it possible to disable Dashboard in Tiger? I would like to do this.
    -Kevin
     
  2. spaceballl thread starter macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    Ouch. Snappy today are we? No, that's the thread I found. It turned out to be more of a discussion of Quartz 2D extreme, whether or not Dashboard is part of Finder, etc etc... I wanted this thread to be limited to the disabling of Dashboard.

    -Kevin
     
  3. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #4
    I thought the thread was pretty clear. At the current moment, there is no way to disable Dashboard. Maybe someone will find a file to edit or something to disable it, but not right now. If you don't activate any widgets, remove dashboard from the dock, and disable the hotkey, its pretty much like deactivating it. Hope this is what you want.
     
  4. iindigo macrumors 6502a

    iindigo

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    It cannot be disabled, end of story. It is part of Dock.app, so in order to stop it you'll have to give up your dock too -

    Besides, I don't see why you'd want to disable dashboard... It's like buying a brand new car and ripping the tape player/radio/cd player out... o_O
     
  5. tekmoe macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    #6
    i thought dashboard is a key component of tiger? why not just stay on panther??
     
  6. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #7
    Ummm.... I think Spotlight is the key component.

    Dashboard is cute, but not really necessary.
     
  7. tekmoe macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    #8
    if it were not a key component, then you could most likely disable it, IMO.
     
  8. andrewfee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    #9
    While it is a part of the dock, I don't think it actually uses any resources until you activate it. If you open it and remove all the default widgets, on restarting/logging out and in again it should practically use nothing.
     
  9. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #10
    The under-the-hood fixes, more optimized code, Core Image, Firewall Stealth Mode, Certificate Assistant, and everything else to make it run faster and more secure are the key components. Dashboard, Spotlight, Automator, are just features.
     
  10. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #11
    it isn't a key component. it isn't "REQUIRED" by any stretch of the means. there's a dashboard server that runs on top of aqua. you can kill it from the commandline but it just restarts itself almost instantly, it doesn't use a lot of ram at all. the widgets might but the server itself does not.

    spotlight pretty much is required though. they put in filesystem hooks so that when a file is written, deleted, etc, then spotlight updates. i'm not so sure you can just disable it either. i'd say it's pretty much a requirement to be running spotlight.
     
  11. Muskie macrumors 6502

    Muskie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #12
    You could just not assign it to any key. Obviously it would still be running, but in effect it'd be disabled.
     
  12. Jmitch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    #13
    Okay, lets not get into an argument over which is the key feature in Tiger. They are all good.
     
  13. MacEyeDoc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    #14
    Agree

    So far I like Spotlight, but Dashboard is so far just some pretty fluff. Now Mail.app is ugly and less easy to use than the Panther version. I always had my maiboxes to the right of the screen, now you can only have them on the left side - and the menu buttons - I've already changed mine, but if you go back to the Panther version you go ah! what nice menu buttons.

    I'll keep Panther on a few machines a little longer than I thought . . .
     
  14. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #15
    Drag the Dashboard icon out of the Dock, and remove the F-12 keyboard shortcut from the Exposé prefs panel. Also delete all widgets from the /Library folder. I think that's the closest you'll get to disabling Dashboard. As to why you want to disable it, thats for another thread.
     
  15. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #16
    the mail issue is just your own personal preference. i like the new layout myself. the buttons could use some work but the layout i like a lot more. i hated the drawer crap so this is a welcome change for me. just remember, not everyone works like you do. i've always had my mailboxes on the left side not the right.
     
  16. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #17
    Thats the 4th or 5th response that was almost exactly the same.
     
  17. spaceballl thread starter macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #18
    Hey guys,

    Thanks for the responses. So it is for sure part of dock.app? Oh well i'm hoping that there is a way to permanently disable it from the command line. I know the server takes little to no CPU cycles and no RAM is used unless there are widgets out there, but in an effort to optimize my system as much as possible, why not get rid of a feature that I'd never use. The most interesting widgets for me are the Gmail notifier as well as the weather forecast but I have firefox extensions for those.

    As far as it being a key component, I'd say it is one of the key flashy parts of the OS... but not a major technology. Thanks for all the responses!
     
  18. MacEyeDoc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    #19
    Agree again

    I think you're right, but why did they take away the option of putting them on the right, when that's the way it's been since 10.1? Just seems arbitrary to me . . .
     
  19. hahaworld macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #20
    Turning off Dashboard

    Dear Grapes911,

    Maybe YOU should have searched a little harder. Dashboard does take up RAM, even when you're not using it, and you can turn it off. Here's how to get rid of that annoying little app:

    Go to /Applications/Utilities/Terminal.

    Open Terminal, and then type this command, followed by the Return key:

    defaults write com.apple.dashboard mcx-disabled -boolean YES

    This tells the system that you no longer wish to have Dashboard available. However, the Dashboard task is actually “owned” by the Dock, so to make your changes take effect, you need to restart the Dock. The easiest way to do that is to type this command into the Terminal (and press Return when done):

    killall Dock

    After the Dock restarts, hit F12 and you’ll see. . .nothing at all. If you run Activity Monitor, you also won’t find any Dashboard widgets in the list of tasks, even if you had several open when you ran the above command. Dashboard has been eliminated from your system, and won’t return until you tell it to do so. You can do just that by opening Terminal again, and typing this command:

    defaults write com.apple.dashboard mcx-disabled -boolean NO

    Once again, you’ll have to use the killall Dock command to make the changes take effect. Once you do, though, you’ll find that Dashboard is back as usual—and any widgets you had opened on the Dashboard will still be open.
     
  20. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #21
    Just use something like TinkerTool (if you're uncomfortable with the Terminal):
     

    Attached Files:

  21. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #22
    What's stuck up your ass? What should I have searched for? Did I say that it didn't use any memory when not in use? I surely don't remember saying that. And at the time of that post, there was no known way to disable dashboard. Things have changed over the last 7 months.
     
  22. spaceballl thread starter macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #23
    YES - I finally got rid of dashboard!!!!
     
  23. Megatron macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    #24
    I didn't run those commands, and I'm looking in activity monitor right now and don't see anything referencing dashboard. What should I be looking for? I don't have any widgets running.
     
  24. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #25
    That's a first. Never seen the same comment posted more than once in a thread. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page