How to disable to Local snapshots and version

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by jnozsc, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. jnozsc, Feb 27, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #1
    :( I have to say those amazing new features really devour my Disk space.
    It has been taken about 30G space from my Disk.

    How to delete them or set them disable or just limit the size?

    Best Regard

    -------update----------

    I find how to disable the local snapshot:

    1.click the time machine menubar icon
    2.open TM preference...
    3.Option...
    4.uncheck the ’create local snapshot‘


    well, how to delete exist local snapshot?
     
  2. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #2
    update

    I find a way to disable the local snapshots.

    but I don't know how to delete the exist local snapshots.

    They are placed at /MobileBackups

    still need help
     
  3. MikhailT, Feb 27, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011

    macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #3
    I think this is your TimeMachine Backup folder. It may be a bug in Lion but it's not mainly for your snapshots, it includes everything you need to backup and that's why it is big.

    Snapshots doesn't take up that much room, it only stores the diff information. Which means that if you only changed 1KB in 100GB file, it'll only saved 1KB in a version ("diff").
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #4

    thanks for you reply, in face I don't have an TimeMachine Backup before.
    And after I uncheck the ‘create local snapshot’ and login again. My 30G disk space comes back.

    I cannot figure out whether it is the problem with local snapshots or some bugs.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    neko girl

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #5
    Out of curiosity how much space is Local Snapshots eating up? Is it significant that you'd stop using it, even when Lion goes gold?
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #6
    How do you know it is taking up 30GB? Do you actually see your main drive reduced by 30GB in Finder when you turn it back on?

    I tried to do this but it only changed around 100MB when i turn it off and on for the main drive in Finder. The MobileBackups folder is 40GB here as well but it doesn't disappear like that.

    Remember that it's 40GB that links to your current existing files in addition to diffs, not 40GB of extra files.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    basher

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ USA
    #7
    The above directions don't seem to work in the released version of Lion. I don't see the item you describe in step number 4.
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #8
    The GUI ability to shut it off was taken out in DP4.
    They really did fix the bug that caused excessive local snapshots, but if you want to turn off local snapshots open terminal and type sudo tmutil disablelocal
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    basher

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ USA
    #9
    Thanks. I guess since the space issue has been addressed, I'll just leave it as is.
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #10
    Yes, it has been fixed.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8K2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Can someone explain to me what exactly local time machine is? Does it just apply to Versions? Or is it a system wide thing that could be used to restore a deleted file etc?
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #12
    Here is info from the TM help section. Local snapshots are mainly used on laptops. They do not have anything to do with versions.

    Time Machine overview
    When you connect your computer to a new disk, a message appears asking if you’d like to use the disk to back up your files. Use this information to respond to the message.

    Use as Backup Disk: Time Machine will use this disk for backups. Initially, Time Machine makes a complete backup, including system files, applications, accounts, preferences, music, photos, documents—everything you keep on your computer, except for a few temporary files (such as web browser caches).
    Depending on how many items you’re backing up, your initial backup could take a while. Subsequent backups take less time because only items that have changed are backed up. You can use your computer during backups.

    Time Machine works best if you use your backup disk only for backups. If you keep files on your backup disk, Time Machine won’t back up those files, and the space available for Time Machine backups is reduced.

    Encrypt backup disk: For security, select this checkbox. If you back up to an external disk and do not encrypt the backup disk, any person who gains possession of the disk can read the information on it.
    Decide Later: Time Machine will display the message again each time you connect to the disk.
    Don’t Use: Time Machine will not ask again if you want to use this disk for backups.
    If your computer is in sleep or your backup disk isn’t available when it’s time for a scheduled backup, the backup is not performed. Backups resume after the computer and backup disk are available again.

    If you have a portable computer, in addition to saving backups on your backup disk, Time Machine saves hourly snapshots of files and stores the snapshots on your computer’s internal drive. If your backup disk isn’t connected, Time Machine continues saving snapshots on your internal drive, and then resumes backing up to your backup disk when you reconnect it.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8K2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Thanks for that. So the local snapshots basically just builds up a memory bank that is transferred to my external drive when I plug it in?
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #14
    Yes, if your laptop is not connected to your external drive it stores changes locally. Once connected again it backs up any changes it missed while not connected to the drive.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    #15
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8K2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Thanks a lot
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #16
    No problem.
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #17
    Best option is to open Terminal and type in...

    sudo tmutil disablelocal

    This will keep normal (remote) Time Machine back ups on, but disable local ones. It will also delete the current local cache automatically.
     
  18. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #18
    Yes, I said that a few min ago, but this org post was back in Feb. That nasty bug was fixed a long time ago. No need to disable it if you don't have the problem.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Crosbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #19
    Retail Lion would appear to have local snapshots disabled by default.

    Anyone know why?
     
  20. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #20
    Local snapshots are disabled if any of the following are true:
    - you have a desktop system
    - you do not have a traditional time machine destination selected
    - you have automatic backups disabled (the big switch in the Time Machine preference pane is off)
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Crosbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #21
    I'm on a MacBook;

    I had a problem with my NAS not supporting Lion for TM backups, so switched to a USB portable HD, figuring I'd be able to keep regular local snapshots and then connect and backup fully about as frequently as I do with my iOS devices;

    Switch is most definitely on - just finished by first backup to the new USB HD - but local backups weren't enabled. I nosed into the Terminal and tested as much.

    I've enabled them now, but wondered whether this was a feature Apple didn't consider ready for Prime Time?
     
  22. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #22
    I'm not sure, perhaps just a bug. Is this a clean install or upgrade? I can't really be sure why it did not work. If it is working now that is good.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Crosbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #23
    It was an upgrade as-per-expectations from the App Store download. It works now because I did some Googling and figured out the terminal commands to get it going... I'm guessing that everyone's standard installations have it disabled by default.

    To test, try:

    Code:
    tmutil snapshot
    In the terminal. If this gives an error, snapshots aren't enabled. For a more GUI-oriented test, try going into TM when the TM disk is disconnected; if you've got snapshots enabled, this works; otherwise it'll prompt for a TM disk.
     
  24. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #24
    According to the man page your command will just Create new local Time Machine snapshot. The man page describes in detail the commands.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Crosbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #25
    Yep. So if they aren't enabled, this command gives an error. (Error 255.)

    Anyone else looking in here care to report whether they have snapshots? Is it just me for some reason? Perhaps because of problems connecting to the NAS with my usual TM backups on?
     

Share This Page