How to drag a window without using title bar

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ndebard, Aug 31, 2004.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Aug 31, 2004
    Hi, I'm brand new to OS-X and coming from a Linux world of about 10 years. I'm trying to get myself used to this new window manager and one feature I particularly am missing is a way to drag windows without clicking on the window's title bar - I'm lazy. Under Linux, most window managers let you do this with ALT-Left click and then you could drag it.

    I'm sure there's a similar feature here but I can't figure it out. It's probably already been answered in the forums but with search words like 'drag' and 'window' there's a lot of flotsam to search through. Any help?

  2. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Aug 31, 2004
    Just to followup, for whatever reason I now have a window who's title bar is above the top of the screen - this is something I often did under Linux WManagers in an attempt to move things out of my way. Sure there are better ways to do this but now I need to move this window by clicking somewhere else but on the title bar.

    Some guru must know how to do this. :)
  3. macrumors 65816


    Aug 4, 2004
    San Francisco, CA

    If the window is bordered you can drag from the window sides.
  4. macrumors regular

    Apr 16, 2003
    Minneapolis, MN
    Hi ndebard and welcome to *nix Apple-style.

    As mentioned above, if the window is bordered you'll be able to grab and drag using the visible edge. However, you'll have to come to terms with the window manager in OS X, which is not going to supply the same style of power-user capabilities as you might be used to in Linux.

    The bottom line is that there's no alternate way that I know of to drag a window. However, if your problem is that you've moved a window above the menu bar, first thing is: don't do that. It can be very frustrating and I've "lost" some windows that way in Adobe GoLive (another very frustrating thing, IMHO) and finally resorted to trashing the pref's for that app in order to reset to the default window configuration.

    In order to get your window back, click once in the window to select it, then go to Window > Zoom in the menu bar (assuming the application you're using offers this menu). Most apps do.

    The Zoom command should reset your window into the visible desktop space, granting you access to the title bar once again.

    Enjoy getting to know OS X. There are actually many power-user tips and tricks that you'll learn over time that make OS X kick-*ss, even when considering the window-manager-lite style of it's interface.

    My number one suggestion for increasing productivity in OS X, especially for anybody used to *nix or who can type is Launch Bar by Objective Development.

    At $20 for a home user license, it's the absolutely most fantastic utility/productivity/efficiency app I've ever used in all my fifteen years on the Mac. If you try it out, make sure to learn how to configure it to set which directories it should index, as well as an appropriate key command for your work style. I can't recommend it highly enough and couldn't imagine working without it.

  5. macrumors newbie

    Mar 18, 2008
    4 years later...

    I'm new to mac's and also have this problem now.

    Is there a fix for this issue yet? My Eclipse editor window is jutting off screen - no title bar in sight. No 'Zoom' option. I tried killing the application and restarting - it's still off screen! Where are the options for the window position stored - I guess I have to edit the mac equivalent of the registry...? :(

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  6. macrumors 65816

    Jan 13, 2008
    There is no Mac equivalent of the registry. If you have Leopard, you can go into the Spaces view (F8) and that should allow you to move an application window from anywhere in the window.
  7. macrumors newbie

    Apr 29, 2008
    it seems that this problem is not solved for 4 years :)

    This could be a solution is applicable:
    connect your mac to a second monitor, then go to the system preference for Display, go to arrangement, drag the menu bar to another monitor (the one the window does not stay)
  8. macrumors newbie

    Mar 6, 2008
    Several More Months Pass...

    This is simple now in Leopard. Activate spaces with F8, go to the space with the offending window, the window's title bar will show allowing you to drag it into position, let go F8 and zoom the window to full screen. Usually works Some Mac software from Google (Picasa comes to mind) does not have a Window menu, and hence no Zoom command. Go figger.
  9. macrumors newbie

    Jan 17, 2011
    If you get the application HyperDock, then you can set it up not to do what it is meant to do, but also to drag and change the size of windows while pressing a (series of) button(s). i do ctrl-option, and the window drags, and ctrl-option-shift, and i can change its size.

    I realize I'm about 5 and a half years after the original post, but I hope it's helpful, nonetheless!
  10. macrumors newbie

    Dec 20, 2011
  11. macrumors newbie

    Mar 17, 2010
  12. macrumors 601

    May 22, 2008
    Milwaukee, WI
    If you're responding to the post above yours, that "you" posted 11 months ago.
  13. macrumors newbie

    Jul 8, 2012
    Better touch tool app. It worked for me when I tried the script editor and it didn't work, there is no zoom option for this application, and my laptop wouldn't let me change the display settings. Great app, and you can set a touchpad option to center a window. Easy peasy and worked like a charm! Oh, and it's free!
  14. macrumors 601

    May 22, 2008
    Milwaukee, WI
  15. macrumors newbie

    Jan 24, 2013

    change the screen resolution
    move window to different location
    change back resolution
  16. macrumors 6502

    Oct 31, 2012
  17. macrumors 68000

    James Craner

    Sep 13, 2002
    Bristol, UK
    I know this is an old Thread - but also take a look at Moom, a great App to tame those OS X windows.
  18. macrumors newbie

    May 22, 2006
    Go to your Library, Preferences, Adobe and find the Adobe Extension Manager folder. Trash it and empty the trash, open your app again and the window will appear in the correct place.
  19. JohnSilver, Apr 13, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2013

    macrumors newbie

    Apr 13, 2013
    Just hold SHIFT when resizing a window by a left or right border
  20. macrumors newbie

    Apr 18, 2013
    Perfect JohnSilver... Free, effective. My Pandora Adobe Air window decided to wander upwards of the menu bar and has been piquing me for days. Free is way better than tools to download and trialware etc.
  21. macrumors newbie

    May 12, 2013
    so the answer is there is no answer?

    you can't drag a window without clicking on the title bar?...forget about re-sizing, buying software (or downloading free crap), or resetting your software or machine - THOSE ARE NOT ANSWERING THE QUESTION!!!
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Jun 17, 2003
    You can use the Window Zoom function to reposition and resize the window to the screen.

    1. Make the application the focus by using Command-Tab.
    2. Either use the application Window->Zoom menu, or hit the Window Zoom hotkey.

    In older versions of OS X the Window Zoom function had a default keyboard shortcut. In Mountain Lion you need to set up the shortcut yourself. To setup the shortcut, open System Preferences->Keyboard:
    1. Click on "Keyboard Shortcuts" tab.
    2. Select "Application Shortcuts"
    3. Under "All Applications" create a hotkey for the menu item "Zoom".
  23. macrumors 601

    May 22, 2008
    Milwaukee, WI
    It depends on which version of the Mac OS one has. For me, using Leopard, the answer is yes, I can't. (or no, I can't - if you prefer)
  24. macrumors newbie

    Jul 2, 2014
    Resurrecting this old thread only because I found it via my own google search for this.

    If you have a trackpad, you can enable 3 finger drag in the system prefs.


    Doesn't help you if you not using a trackpad, but it's still nice to know there's at least 1 built in way of doing this.
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Mar 11, 2011
    Sorry for bumping this thread once again but it's the first relavant search result in Google, so for educational purposes...

    That's the answer for me. Thanks! No need to create a gesture, the drag-anywhere functionality is handled specially and configurable in the settings panel:


    This little trick helped my laziness reach a new high, I love it :cool:.

Share This Page