How to enter into the BIOS on MacBook Pro 2007 - 2012 ?

Discussion in 'Wasteland' started by EthosX, Aug 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #1
    HeyUP People
    Everybody from us was wondering HOW to get in to the bios on apple laptops?
    Thre must be SECRET combination of keys what apple will never reveal..
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    There isn't a bios!!
     
  3. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    More importantly why?

    Not much in there to futz around with. No overclocking or any PC BIOS type things.

    Try rEFIt
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #4
    Ofcourse there IS BIOS the computer cannot work without it!

    To enable and disable cpu features
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #5
    Macs do not have a BIOS to enter. The equivalent would be the Extensible Firmware Interface (EFI) to access this (Open Firmware, hence O and F key combination) press Command-Option-O-F keys during startup.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #6
    If you're looking for BIOS, you're using the wrong computers altogether - buy yourself a PC.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #7
    I would say mac dos not have UTILITY to enter or there Is but apple wont tell nobody just engineers HAS ''Hot KEY'' cos i have windows and it is insyde BIOS !

    Man such stupid recomendations leave for yourself or for some yours mongs..if they accept it.. but NOT me!
     
  8. sth, Aug 1, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2012

    sth
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    The old world
    #8
    There are probably ways to configure certain hardware parameters, but as far as I know, there's no user-accessible UI for that, and things like startup disk selection can be done directly from the OS.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extensible_Firmware_Interface

    Macs never used BIOS. Before switching to EFI, they used OpenFirmware.

    EFI emulates BIOS functionality for non-EFI-compliant operating systems.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #9
    Macs use EFI, not BIOS. It's all locked down, you will never be able to change any settings in the EFI/firmware. I'm guessing you want to experiment with overclocking or something along those lines. That is simply not possible with Macs under OS X.
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #10
    Macs don't have a BIOS that you can enter. The system is completely locked down. If you want an overclockable system, build a hackintosh.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #11
    Like it or not, you're not going to find a trace of BIOS on Macs.

    Buy yourself a PC... oh wait, they're slowly going towards UEFI as well!
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #12
    It may shock the OP but

    Macs use OS X, not Windows. BIOS is a Windows controller.
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #13
    The BIOS isn't solely for windows. Windows just runs on hardware that uses a BIOS. OSX can run on that same hardware, it just needs to be modified. Macs use an EFI system that is locked down by apple on purpose. There is no way to modify it.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    FL
    #14
    Linux runs perfectly fine with hardware that uses a BIOS.
     
  15. macrumors demi-god

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #15
    Yeah so as I said.... There really isn't a bios!
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #16
    Seriously?
    You think that just because Windows uses Bios Mac has that too?

    Several people have told you now that Mac doesn't have bios, either you are just incredibly stubborn or a troll.
     
  17. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #17
    What was it with trolls and feeding? :D
     
  18. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #18
    I agree quite with you all but not 100%
    You have macs but you don't know all secrets what it hides .. BECAUSE of lacks of BIOS utility ..
    And please those who still keeping saying buy yourself pc etc.. lease save it for yourself. YOU dont know what i have what i own .. so just no need to say it..!

    Here are some interesting pics

    Insyde BIOS

    [​IMG]

    Integrated Intel GPU (disabled!)

    [​IMG]

    BIOS date and video bios

    [​IMG]
     
  19. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #19
    BIOS type - EFI. Just like everyone said.
     
  20. macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #20
    Seriously ... EFI is a replacement for BIOS.

    Macs do not have a BIOS but can emulate it, and that is the reason why you see SiSoft report a BIOS in Windows (and the reason why Macs can still boot Windows). Windows 8 should finally be fully EFI compatible.

    Again, Macs only have EFI.
     
  21. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #21
    The application you are using is a windows application and refers to Apple's EFI as BIOS.

    Newer windows based systems would say EFI using the same application.
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #22
    It's that time of the month I think. Sheesh! There's only about two sane answers in this entire thread. Everyone else has decided that it's the first of the month, might as well be a jerk. Perhaps it's because it's Colorado Day today. ;)

    So, no, there's not a BIOS, per se, in the Mac environment. BIOS is the interface between the hardware/firmware layer and the OS layer. Yes, that identical role is filled by EFI on the Mac and UEFI on newer Intel architectures like Win8. EFI is, in effect, the new BIOS. Guys, to give the OP a ration of grief over the question implies that you don't know this.

    On PPC Macs, one could actually boot into OpenFirmware and work in a command line console to alter the EFI data. That is no longer possible on Intel Macs. On Intel Macs there's no construct like your familiar BIOS console to allow modifying parameters of the hardware/OS interface. Having said that, the EFI is modifiable, in a limited fashion, even on the Mac Intel platform. One method is a tool like rEFIt. This allows editing the boot partition list even before the OS X boot loader gets to it. This can be used to allow booting from multiple non_MacOS partitions in addition to Bootcamp.

    There's a dated, but still useful, article on Apple's EFI implementation here.
     
  23. EthosX, Aug 1, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2012

    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #23
    u are JUST air fr me from now !

    ----------

    yeah but it is fact it cannot be lie ..
    there are firmware updates for EFI I suppose ..

    ----------

    Thnx for the nice and NORMAL racional explanation from non jerk person..
    If I cannot access bios I can do it via windows obviously ..
    I have fan control i can speed up fans or slow down ..
    I can overclock gpu or downclock ..
    I can overclock cpu BUT I cannot enable or disable its technology features.
    I have installed win 7 x64 and works perfectly ..
    I will be istalling win 8 later on..
     
  24. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #24
    Buddy, several people told you that Mac does not use BIOS. I mean, just look up EFI and BIOS in Wikipedia or something, its all there. Bootcamp does BIOS emulation for Windows, thats why Windows will show you some BIOS info. And yes, there are firmware updates for Macs.
     
  25. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #25
    Ill tel you that I haven't used bootcap and I instaled win 7 without it ..
    I have clean install of windows . installed from DVD and created bootable SSD before windows install..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page