How to get data from MBP to new air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by rcmorgan540, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #1
    How should I go about transferring the data from my older (2009) MBP to my new air? In the past I have used migration assistant, but I can't do that without an ethernet port. I do have a large external usb hard drive to make a backup. Any suggestions? Would a complete time machine backup be good? It will also be going from Snow Leopard to Lion. Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  3. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #3
    A complete Time Machine backup of the old machine should be fine, that's how I always do it. But a full backup (SuperDuper!, Carbon Copy Cloner) to a regular HDD would work as well, too. Migration Assistant on your new Air shouldn't had a problem with either.

    Apple released a software update the other day that was supposed to help with migration of data from Snow Leopard to Lion, so you might want to take a look at that on your MBP before you try anything. :)
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #4
    My suggestion is, upgrade the MPB to Lion, then TimeMachine it, then use that to restore to the MBA.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #5
    How about if I only want to transfer some files and apps and some iTunes and not iMovie or iphoto?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #6
    In that case I would do it manually with an external harddrive for example.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    You're best bet would be Migration Assistant, which I believe you can do over a wireless connection.

    If you are planning on keeping your old computer, you might as well upgrade it to Lion and go the Time Machine/restore route. I've only done that process once and I don't remember if you can selectively choose which applications or files to restore or if it does it all.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #8
    I have a TM BU on ext HDD. Can I use this with migration assistant? Or should i manually copy files apps that I want on the new MBA and then copy to it. Trouble is I want the programme data to be copied across.
     
  9. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #9
    That should work fine with Migration Assistant.

    The only time I'd manually copy data across is if I didn't want to migrate everything. Say, I just wanted my iTunes restored, nothing else.
     

Share This Page