How to get rid of untitled harddrive?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ich1ban, Nov 27, 2006.

  1. ich1ban macrumors regular

    ich1ban

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    #1
    While I'm on os x the untitled harddrive (which is windows drive) is on my desktop and it won't go away. I tried to hide it but it came back after I restarted my comp. Any ideas?
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    You can suppress seeing *all* hard drives on the desktop from the Finder preferences, but I don't know a way to suppress seeing just one. Well, you might be able to rename it so that the name begins with a dot (eg .Windows), but I don't know what impact that would have on Windows.

    Alternatively, just give it a name and a cute icon and let it live there. :)
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    Easier said than done for NTFS, since you have to do it in Windows... :)

    The ".Windows" is the easiest way to deal with it, but you still have to rename it from Windows.

    B
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    So is this safe for Windows?
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Yeah, Windows doesn't assign any special value or restriction to the name/label of the drive...

    B
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    I'll have to remember that when I reformat my drive next time.
     
  7. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I'm pretty sure '\/\/indows' wouldn't be allowed. ;), though whether Windows has a problem with . I don't know, anyway the fact that it's visible is good in that you can remove files from it in case Windows fails to boot or something.
     
  8. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #8
    Can't delete files from NTFS volumes though...:eek:

    I could have sworn I tried the dot naming trick in Windows but it still shows on my desktop. I just ignore it, although the cute icon idea isn't half bad :)

    Complete off-topic, anyone know of any development of NTFS "drivers" for OS X? Such as a mac port of the Linux-NTFS project?
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    I find it annoying being unable to change the icon on my NTFS drive. I think hiding from the GUI it it the next best thing. :D
     
  10. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #10
    Oh yeah. :p [Not Photoshopped]

    You can't remove files from it if it's NTFS and read only.

    You can change the icon by putting the .VolumeIcon.icns file on in Windows. Apply it to a USB stick and then copy the file under Windows.

    B
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    Where should I put that .icns file? On Windows root directory? How do I make it?
     
  12. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #12
    I don't think you have to reformat. You can change the volume name from the properties in Windows, I think....
     
  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    I have it at 32 GB FAT32. I'm going for 50-60 GB NTFS when Leopard comes out.
     
  14. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    I think it's unreliable (at least that's what i've heard) as MS don't publish the specs, otherwise I'm sure Apple would include them in bootcamp.
     
  15. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #15
    Which is why Captive (http://www.jankratochvil.net/project/captive/) seemed like such a good idea. Just use the NTFS drivers from Windows, since you already have them installed in your Windows partition.

    B
     

Share This Page