iPad How to get whatsapp on iPad ?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Chevenowner, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #1
    I know there is a way to download whatsapp after jailbreaking it
    But can you use it on your iPad and other phone with the same phone number ?
    Would be great if any 1 can tell me that
    Thanks
    :)
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    #2
    Not possible to link multiple devices to one number with Whatsapp. I too wish they would add that functionality.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #3
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #4
    on my ipad3 it gives me a device not supported message.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Location:
    Rangiora, New Zealand
    #5
    Not supported

    Same here on iPad2 :(
     
  6. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #6
    There is a way.

    you'll need an iPhone as well.

    delete WA from iPhone, afterwards install clean, do not open WA.

    install UDIDfaker from Cydia on iPhone

    in UDIDfaker for WA set the UDID from your iPad

    now open WA on iPhone, insert phone number(needs to be second number not your iPhone number, you can use a prepaid or other phone)

    WA will now sent a confirmation nr to that phone number.

    activate WA with the that nr on iPhone.

    Now go into iPhone file structure:
    var/mobile/applications/Whatsapp/Library/preferences

    copy net.whatsapp.WhatsApp.plist

    On the iPad install whatspad from cydia
    install Whatsapp
    in the same directory on the iPad copy the plist from above.

    Whatsapp should now work on the iPad.

    On the iPhone remove the whatsapp
    install again
    make sure UDIDfaker is set to original UDID for iPhone

    Open whatsapp on iphone, put in the original number from iPhone and activate again.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #7
    I think they are looking for non JB solutions.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Then they're asking in the wrong forum section.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #9
    I think not, it says HACKS, doesnt only say jailbreak, a hack can be any kind of method and bypass, does not refer to JB.
     
  10. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #10
    What other bypass is there other than jailbreaking??
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #11
    Anyone able to get Whatsapp working on new iPad?
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    #12
    in for answer
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #14

    will i get messages on the ipad and iphone at the same time?
     
  15. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #15
    No, you have to use different numbers, it is not possible to have same number on both ipad and iphone, use imessage instead, that wil give you iphone, ipad and mac if you have 1.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #16
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    #17
    it works on the ipad 3.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    ipsychedelic

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Cali, Colombia
    #18
    But if you use it on the iPhone already, would it work just fine with the same "activation number" or you basically need two active phone numbers?

    I tried the same with Viber (no extra workarounds) but now Viber on the iPhone started behaving funny.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    #19
    i tried using one phone number for whatsapp on both my ipad and my android phone, and some of the messages wouldn't get through.

    i resorted to using my google voice number for my ipad and it works fine.
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    ipsychedelic

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Cali, Colombia
    #20
    Ok, thanks.
     

Share This Page