How to hide icons in the dock

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by Rower_CPU, Oct 28, 2003.

  1. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    OK, has anyone found a way to do this in Panther yet? I tried doing it the way I did in Jaguar and it's not working at all.

    Adding this to the Info.plist file inside the app's contents doesn't seem to do anything.

     
  2. macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    #2
    If the app is running, just right-click the dock icon and choose "hide".

    I assume you already know this though, and want some way, for example, to launch the activity monitor at startup as a hidden application that displays status info in the dock.
    Not sure how this is done, or if it's possible.
     
  3. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    Yeah, I'm actually talking about the icon not displaying in the dock while the app is running.

    Let me touch up the topic to make that clearer.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    LimeLite

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #4
    Can I just ask why you need to do that? Seems like that hack necessary to do it isn't really worth it.
     
  5. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    It's not a need, but more of a want, and it was doable in Jaguar.

    For instance, I've got an app that's always visible on my desktop and launches when I log in. I'd prefer to not have it taking up space in my dock when I won't be interacting with it via the dock. Also, I'm curious to see if it disappears from the app switcher as well.

    Also, it was a very simple hack in 10.2...not a lot of "trouble" at all.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    #6
    This is really really weird. It's working with iPulse, but not Stickies, both of which I added NSUIElement to under Jaguar. I tried doing it to TextEdit today under Panther, and it didn't work. It seems rather inconsistent.
     
  7. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #7
    In System Preference->Account Preferences under the Startup Items tab, you can add an application and check the Hide check box to hide the icon from the dock.

    The above will work for items you want started when you log in.
     
  8. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    Doing that still leaves the icon in the dock, it only hides the app.

    Macco-
    I wonder if they disable it for Apple apps. I'm trying it on stickies as well, and it's a no go.
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
  10. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    I'm getting unexpected quits in Panther. So close, and yet...
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Location:
    NC, USA
    #11
    hmm.....that's weird, isn't TextEdit Carbon or something (sorry, I'm not a programmer of any sort :D ), and Stickies too? Maybe that has something to do with it. Or maybe I'm just assuming things.
     
  12. macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #12
    i was going to mention Dockless as well.

    i guess the next version will be Panther compatible. i'll be keeping my eye out for it...
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    Phil Of Mac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Location:
    Washington State University
    #13
    Stickies is Cocoa. It was ported. In Mac OS X Public Beta, the default Stickies said, "This is an example of how easy it is to port apps to Cocoa!"--surely a vestigial feature remaining from Rhapsody!

    TextEdit is Cocoa as well.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #14
    Re: How to hide icons in the dock

    I know exactly what you're talking about! For some strange reason, Panther actually cache's the Plists. To reset it, with the NSUIElement set to 0 (just like in Jag), quit the app, move it to another folder (say, your desktop), then back to your applications folder. That should do the trick. That resets the cached file and it should do the expected behavior.
     
  15. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #15
    Re: Re: How to hide icons in the dock

    That's not doing the trick, either. I tried my desktop and another partition, and I tried set to 0 and 1...nothing...hmmm.
     

Share This Page