How to Hook up 3 Macs ?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by ojayit, Apr 25, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    We want to Hook up our 3 macbooks in order to play some games, but we have only 1 single fire wire ports on our computers.
    So, my question is, Is it possible to have ethernet and fire wire running between 3 macs in order to make Local area network work, so that we could play games.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    You need a simple network switch - they're very inexpensive - plus 3 ethernet cables. Job done.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    #3
    So, you are saying it won't work without switch, just having 1 ethernet and firewire cable, if so, can u send me the link to buy 4 port ethernet switch.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    jlewis2k1

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    in your closet
  5. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #5
    Few options:

    1. You need a router, router has ports for additional wired network.
    For example, Airport Express (no additional ports but has other features different than standard routers) or Airport Extreme.

    2. You can create a wireless network from on of the Macs.

    3. If your router doesn't have a switch, but you would like wired network, then get a switch. For example, $11 after rebate (expires April 30)
    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124005

    I suggest getting airport extreme, as it has wired gigabit network capabilities if you have the right ethernet cables (cat 5e or cat 6)
     

Share This Page