How to increase Transmission speed?

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by .fred, Dec 25, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #1
    Hey.

    Is there a way to just start my Transmission download? Its been at 0 bytes for a while now.

    Im new to this, do i have to configure anything?
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Bernard Bernoul

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    #2
    Have you properly set up port forwarding?
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    GSMiller

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #3
    There probably aren't any "seeds" (people who have the entire file and are uploading it to others). I have a file in Azureus (another torrent client) that has not been downloading for about three weeks because there are no seeds.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #4
    If you're new to this, have you made sure the torrent you want actually has seeds?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #5
    Yeah, it has seeds.

    Talking about ports, what numbers should it be?
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Bernard Bernoul

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    #6
    I just kind of picked a port and mapped it in the router. As an example, I think I'm using 56001 or something like that. Just make sure that you've assigned an IP for yourself as opposed to getting one assigned through DHCP. I think I've read that some ports are banned but I really don't know too much about that.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #7
    Ok, but should there be an error beside the port?
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Bernard Bernoul

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    #8
    I think I've always had an error when it comes to "automatically mapping" the port. Actually, it got to the point where I started using azureus instead. Did you assign yourself an IP address, etc.?
     
  9. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #9
    I do have uPnP turned on for other things but I just mapped the port myself.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. macrumors newbie

    Bernard Bernoul

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    #10
    Sweet, yeah, thanks for the SS Eidorian. I don't have my mbp with me at work and I'm not the best at descriptive responses. .fred, it should look like that.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #11
    Don't use Transmission. It's blocked by a lot of torrent trackers.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    soms

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Location:
    Eugene
    #12
    QFT

    Get Azureus, its a much BETTER program with more features
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #13
    This is not true. There are very few where it's blocked.
     
  14. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #14
    We're not talking about BitComet here...

    Considering Transmission resolved most of this back in 0.71. :rolleyes:
     
  15. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #15
    Hey, Eldorian!

    I don't seem to have the connection pane? And also, when i use that port on yours, it sys port is stealth?
     
  16. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #16
    It's the preferences for Transmision. I had to forward the port on my router.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #17
    Could you guide me on that? Im really stuck here..

    Thanks,eldorian.
     
  18. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #18
    Port Foward has guides for a significant number of routers.

    You'll just need to pick a port in Transmission and forward it on your router.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #19
    Sorry, but could you give me a step by step guide?

    I dont know anything about forwarding and all.. :(
     
  20. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #20
    I'm going to hand this off to someone else...
     
  21. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #21
    Ok. If i lnow my router model, can u help me?
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Bernard Bernoul

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    #22
    If you check the manufacturers website and look for your model number it should/may provide a step-by-step for port forwarding. It's really not difficult to do but explaining it is another matter. Don't take that the wrong way, basically I just don't feel confident in my "teaching" abilities.
     
  23. macrumors G3

    Kilamite

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland
    #23
    What version of Transmission are you on? I don't have half the settings on that screenshot..
     
  24. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #24
    I run the Transmission nightlies.
     

Share This Page