How to install Lion on a new hard drive?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by brave5213, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I just ordered a ssd and I'm planning to swap the old one. My question is, how can I install lion to that new hard drive? I can install to a old hard drive but this one will be new for me. Where should I start? What should I do?

    Thanks a lot for help.:)
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    If you have a recovery partition, you could create a Lion installer on a USB flash memory thumb drive or other HDD:
    OS X Lion: About Lion Recovery
    Lion Recovery Disk Assistant

    Since I don't know, what Mac you have, this is the OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion sub-forum, maybe this guide can't help at all, if you don't want to clone your HDD to an SSD (which is not recommended anyway, a Clean Install is recommended when getting an SSD):

    MacBook, MacBook Pro: Replacing the Hard Disk Drive, transferring data to the new HDD

    the guide includes:
    • 0. Identify your MacBook or MacBook Pro
    • 1. Getting a new HDD
    • 2. Guides to replace the internal HDD with a newer one
    • 3. Transferring data from the old HDD to the new HDD
    • 4. Using the optical disk drive (ODD) slot for placing an SSD or HDD inside the MB/P (OPTIBAY)


     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    hello,

    i have a mbp with lion installed. when i get the new ssd, i want to install a fresh copy of lion. i don't want to install from a time machine backup or something else.

    what is the first thing that i need to do after i plug the new ssd? what kind of screen will i see on first boot up? can i use lion internet recovery?

    thanks.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #4
    you should be able to swap the ssd and hard drive, on the first boot you hold command R during the CHime sound and internet recovery should launch

    did you purchase Lion or was it pre-installed??

    if you purchased it i would from your current hard drive go back to hte MAS and re-download Lion from the purchased tab and than make a bootable copy of lion on a usb or dvd so you always have it to do clean installs.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #5
    what if lion was pre installed?
     
  6. macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #6
    than you could make a usb recovery partition


    http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1433


    if you don't have a working hard drive with lion anymore you might have to make it at a friends house
     
  7. Takuro, Mar 24, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2012

    macrumors 6502

    Takuro

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #7
    If your Mac came with Lion preinstalled, you should be able to download it again at any time directly from the Mac App Store. The app has an embedded "dmg" image that can be burnt to a DVD. Here are the steps:

    1) Hold down the option key while launching the Mac App Store, select the "purchased" tab, and and then download the Lion installer app.
    2) Right-click on the installer app, and hit "Show Package Contents". Navigate to Contents > SharedSupport and look for a file called "InstallESD.dmg".
    3) Open up Disk Utility and drag the DMG file into the left-hand sidebar. Insert a DVD, select the disk image in the sidebar, and hit the "Burn" button.

    References:

    http://osxdaily.com/2011/08/02/re-download-mac-os-x-lion-from-app-store/
    http://lifehacker.com/5823096/how-to-burn-your-own-lion-install-dvd-or-flash-drive
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #8
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    #9
    will this be a bootable DVD?, and in theory could i do the same thing with a USB thumb drive.
     
  10. macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #10
    yes a 8GB will work using those guides to make a bootable USB drive
     

Share This Page