Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jman995x

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 8, 2007
I'm new to Aperture and have started Keywording my library.
However, I've noticed that when I'm adding a Keyword into the "Add Keyword" slot in the Control Bar at the bottom of the screen, that if I happen to mistakenly capitalize a letter or omit a character, that Aperture just takes that entry as a new Keyword instead of assuming that I just mistyped the word.

For Instance:
One of the keywords I use is "Meta" (to let me know if the picture has MetaData info). However, sometimes I get typing pretty fast and mistakenly type the word "MEta". Instead of Aperture defaulting to "Meta" (which I want it to do), I now have both Keywords (Meta and MEta).

Is there a way to lockdown the current list of Keywords so that no more can be entered (and thus if I mistype something it won't show up in the picture's keyword panel and I'll know that I mistyped it)?....or better yet, even if I mistyped the word METa, Aperture would know what I meant to type and just make the keyword the default spelling "Meta" (regardless of how badly I screwed up the spelling)?

Another thing that Aperture 3 does that kind of irritates me is that if I'm typing one keyword and it happens to end with the same letter that another keyword starts with, Aperture will sometimes add that second keyword to the end of my first keyword. Why does it do this?...why would it combine two totally different keywords into one (totally useless) keyword?

For instance...I have the keyword "Meta"....but if I also have another keyword "Apple"....sometimes if I don't catch it fast enough (i.e.: before I hit the Return button), Aperture will autopopulate the keyword box with "MetApple"...which I obviously don't need, and will screw me up later when I'm looking for anything tagged "Meta" (as MetApple won't qualify during the search process).